New Air vs 2014 Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ajf.350d, Jun 3, 2019.

1. ajf.350d macrumors member

Looks like my Mid 2014 MacBook Pro may be in need of replacing as touchpad has completely failed.
    I was looking at the Geekbench performance of it versus the latest i5 Air and in fact the new Air seems to come out on top, along with the graphics can support up to 5k externally.

Would this really stack up as a viable replacement to the older Pro?

I am not a heavy user as I also have a high end Windows laptop, but would like it to manage Lightroom on occasion , which the old Pro was OK with.

Would this be a sensible option or should I go for a new Pro?
    I like to keep a Mac for learning purposes as there are some Macs at work which I have to support.

2. icloudUser macrumors newbie

I got an MBA 2018 (8G/128) as a replacement for the 10.5 Ipad Pro. Its a good replacement for what I do but the resource limits are quite small before it starts beachballing. Some examples:
    > Firefox starves the MBA. Period. Drains the battery like anything if you are watching a video. Safari is the best option
    > Itunes is another hog
    >if you open other 1srt party apps along with any of the above your MBA is in trouble

In hindsight I now think MBP might have been a better choice for my usage which is medium heavy for media consumption. A faster processor might have been helpful even with 8 GB of RAM

Go for at least 16GB of RAM if it is going to be a MBA for you but at the same time also compare the price of 16GB RAM model with the nearest MBP

3. ajf.350d thread starter macrumors member

Thanks.
    I was looking at one of the basic i5 8Gb models so I might reconsider.
    I could probably get the touchpad on the Pro replaced but the cost is probably excessive for a 5 year old machine.

4. auxbuss macrumors regular

auxbuss