New AirPort Extreme - devices don't communicate

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by gtmac, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. gtmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #1
    I replaced my 5th Gen AirPort Extreme with the newest version.

    With the new AE I can't access my wireless printer, I can't use RDP from my phone to local PC, and the remote app on my phone doesn't connect to iTunes.

    On the old AE everything works perfectly, I reconnected it to test it out.

    What might I be missing in the set up?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2

    Is the new Extreme set to Bridge Mode or DHCP & NAT mode?
     
  3. gtmac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #3
    DHCP. All devices receive an ip and can connect to the Internet. They just can't talk to each other.

    I am wondering if there is something between the AC wireless in the iPhone 6? But that shouldn't effect the PC to printer.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Is the 5 GHz network and 2.4 GHz network running on separate network names (SSID)? Are some connected to the guest network by accident?
     
  5. gtmac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #5
    No guest network. Now I think it's an IPv4 and IPv6 issue.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6

    Try doing a factory reset.
     

Share This Page