New Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by xWhiplash, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I am new to the Airport Extreme routers. My old router (D-Link DIR-655) was giving me CONSTANT DNS issues. This is apparently very common with that DLink Router. Anyway, once I got my Airport Extreme set up, I ran GRC Shields Up! It listed most of my ports as closed instead of Stealth.

    Do I need to worry? Did I miss a setting when I was configuring it? Does it have a firewall?

    Thanks.
     
  2. blueroom, Mar 26, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2014

    blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    It's got a firewall, it doesn't have UPNP or the bug it has/had.
     
  3. xWhiplash thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #3
    Do I need to be worried about the ports showing as Closed instead of Stealth?
     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    It is good to be concerned about your network's security. To be dead honest with you, stealth simply means you don't know the port is there. In simple terms, it is like saying I have a hidden driveway off a dead end road. Could someone come and try some damage if not properly secured with a gate? Sure! However, if the gate is closed and is visibly closed, there is no way an intruder is going to get on the property! See what I'm saying.
     

Share This Page