New Alu iMac, advice!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nawks, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. nawks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Far Far Away.
    #1
    I've recently bought the new 2.8ghz C2 Extreme iMac. When it was ready for collection, i was out of the country, so my sister picked it up for me. So it was sitting in my room for just under a fortnight before i started it up. Since then, i've had 3 issues with the iMac.

    1. the first time i started the mac, i noticed there was quite a patch of what seemed like condensation on the inside of the glass at the bottom right hand corner. after a few hours it went away and hasn't appeared since, should i be worried?

    2. after i shut down, i noticed that there were several blotches on the screen, largest one is probably 1cm. its definitely on the inside. any chance it will go away?

    3. 2 days back, when i was running aperture, the program froze, i couldnt force quit it. and when i tried opening other programs, they would just bounce on the dock and not open. subsequently, when i was caliberating my screen with Spyder2 yesterday, i tried to open system preferences, it would just bounce and not open, couldnt shut down nor force quit.

    i've been a mac user for around 10 years now, and the 3rd issue is really something i wasnt expecting.

    could it be the 10.4.10 update?

    for the 2nd issue, in the event the blotches do not go away, any chance i might get a replacement?
     
  2. RevToTheRedline macrumors 6502a

    RevToTheRedline

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #2
    I can speak for #1, although it never happened to me but I read a lot about it, some other people had condensation inbetween the glass and screen, it didn't seem to be a problem.

    And for #3 Aperture seems to be unstable and crashes for a lot of people. I have it installed, and it seems to be fine for me, but I hardly ever use it compared to Photoshop CS3.
     
  3. nawks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Far Far Away.
    #3
    ahh. i think its actually my p2p client and not aperture. i've not had any problems so far since i've stopped using it. performance has still been slightly choppy though.
     
  4. rainydays macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #4
    I don't own Aperture but I did try the demo briefly on the two previous iMacs and it froze every time I clicked the button for full screen mode.

    Since Aperture is using the GPU a lot I simply supposed that it was the driver for the new GPU that was causing the problem. I've had lockups in a couple of games as well so it seems reasonable that it would be the cause.

    I'm using Lightroom and have no issues with that. But I feel for the Aperture users, really. Seems that Apple didn't do enough testing before release. Let's hope they fix it soon.
     
  5. psonice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #5
    I use aperture and also have a 2.8. It was initially choppy, as you describe - especially when you hit F for fullscreen. I had 1gb of RAM then - I've since upgraded to 4gb and now it runs really well, no problem switching to fullscreen or anything else.
     
  6. nawks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Far Far Away.
    #6
    ahh. im hoping for driver updates for this reason as well. but its not just when i run aperture. on the whole the mac feels a little sluggish. =(
     

Share This Page