New alu Macbook slowing down

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Awesome-o/, Mar 10, 2009.

1. Awesome-o/ macrumors member

Hi, I'm pretty new to the whole MacBook world as I only brought my unibody MacBook in November. Although I've found everything to me incredibly intuitive there are still some thing i need to learn, such as what to do when thing start slowing down. Recently I have noticing a few programs having some difficulties, my Logic studio has been having System overloads, my dashboard hasn't been popping up and my Safari is feeling slower.

On windows their was a variety of thing I used to try stop this (virus scan were a staple) but i just have no idea where to start on my MacBook. Any advice on what I could do get things running smoothly again would be really appreciated!

Sorry if this question is a bit basic for this forum!

2. eyefoniac macrumors 6502

eyefoniac

Hey there,
    There are a few things you can try.
    1. Restart if you haven't in a while
    2. Download a program (free) called OnyX from www.iusethis.com and run the automation process. Make sure to restart after this process is over.

Hopefully one of these will clean things up for you!

3. baddj macrumors 6502

Okay Do the following

Finder > Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor

Then you can see what apps mite be taking up all the ram and or the cpu.

4. Awesome-o/ thread starter macrumors member

ah brilliant i'll definitely give that program a go, just the sorta thing I was looking for!

I'll also restart, it may be because I always leave it on sleep. Is this not advisable?

5. baddj macrumors 6502

Sleep is good if you are coming back to the computer like 15 to 30 mins later if you are going to not use it for about 2 or more hours i would shutdown. But thats based on what i got told when doing IT cert 2

6. amrk47 macrumors regular

lol leaving it on sleep for days definitely causes it to slow down

7. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked