New aluminum macbook 2.4 vs. Previous gen. MBP 2.4?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by tclamp07, Oct 26, 2008.

1. tclamp07 macrumors member

Hello all im new to the forum and I love it! Im here to ask what you guys think about my situations and I know there have been numerous threads about this so i apologize for the monotony but my problem is I dont know whether I should buy the previous generations MBP 2.4 ghz penryn vs. the new aluminum MB 2.4 Im going to be using this mainly for general usage as well as photo editing and some music editing. I dont play any video games. Im a student so portability is a plus but not an issue. Any help is greatly appreciated thanks!

2. Doodledoo macrumors regular

The new MacBook should be better for you. It's a lot smaller and more portable, it can handle music and photo editing without much stress, and you don't need much of a graphics card if you don't play video games or do many other graphics-intensive things. If you can get a huge deal on the last-gen MBP, go for it, but it seems like the new MacBook is best suited for you.

3. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

andiwm2003

go with the old MBP. you get a much better screen, it,s only one pound more heavvy and has firewire ports. if you do music editing you will appreciate the speed of external HD's via FW800.

the old MBP is also more future proof because with the express card slot you can add card readers, esata port or whatever comes up. the GPU is twice as fast as the MB's and with snow leopard using the GPU more fore no graphics tasks that will pay off down the road.

my 2 cents.

4. pytter macrumors newbie

I agree - I have just gone through this same process and decided to buy an old MBP 2.4 :D - the price I got here in the Uk is about the same as the new MB 2.4 - so a no brainer for me given the larger screen size (and matt to boot) and plenty of FW connections. The Geforce 8600M GT should be plenty powerful for your needs (as i is more than enough for mine)!