New Apple Pencil Coming?

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by Mac 128, Sep 1, 2018.

1. Mac 128 macrumors 603

Mac 128

The Apple Pencil was released in November 2015. So we’re going on 3 years now. With the rumor of Pencil support coming for the new iPhone, is there any chance well also see an update to the Pencil? Not sure what that’d be, though.

Id like to pick up a Pencil this weekend, but hate to buy one now if a new one is right around the corner ... the Apple Store has a 14-day return policy, right?

2. SnacksGU macrumors 6502

SnacksGU

I doubt there is a new pencil.
    Newest rumors suggest to Apple Pencil support for iPhone.
    Yes - 14 days. So if it comes on Sept 12. You can exchange and get the new one.

3. AvisDeene macrumors member

AvisDeene

I hope there is. I'm not a professional artist, nor do I own an apple pencil yet, but I want to purchase a new iPad Pro with the next refresh and I'd like it if they come out with an Apple Pencil that a a narrower/sharper tip.

4. Relentless Power macrumors Penryn

Relentless Power

I’m not believing these rumors suggesting that Apple Pencil support will be for the new 2018 iPhones, But for future purposes, it could happen. If an Apple Pencil does launch, it would likely only be to the 6.5 iPhone X for exclusivity. If an Apple Pencil does debut, then Assume it will alongside the launch of the new iPads with Face ID.

5. Mac 128 thread starter macrumors 603

Mac 128

I picked up a Pencil this weekend. It's a beautiful device, but not as ground breaking in application as I had thought. using it on the iPad display is very different than on paper, and takes some getting used to. But it works as advertised. I still haven't found a good graphics application which makes it intuitively easy to use -- so we'll see; it may be going back anyway for lack of a good reason to use it regularly.