New Apple Remote?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by potentpotable, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. potentpotable macrumors regular

    potentpotable

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Since the Apple Remote doesn't work with the new MBA, is it going to be discontinued so that we're forced to use our iPhone/iPods, or can we expect a new revision in the near future?
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    I use the new aluminum remote to watch movies on my mac mini.
     
  3. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #3
    It also comes with the new AppleTV, so I don't see it being discontinued.
     
  4. rkmac macrumors 6502

    rkmac

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    JAFA, New Zealand
    #4
    And it also works with the macbook pro line and iMac line as well...
    Just because one computer no longer supports it does not mean they will discontinue it all together :rolleyes:
     
  5. potentpotable thread starter macrumors regular

    potentpotable

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Gotcha. Well I don't have an iPhone or current Remote, but I'd like to use one! I guess I'll just need to play the waiting game for a new, compatible one.
     
  6. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #6
    i'm in the same boat.i don't know what to do because this is a deal breaker for me...someone suggested i use a USB with ultra i don't know what to make the Apple Remote work but i don't know if this is the best option...
     
  7. Kanunu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #7
    Works with VLC?

    Will the Apple remote work with VLC or will it only control Apple apps like iTunes or Quicktime?
     
  8. PAPO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I can't remember what it's called but there is an app/ utility that allows you to customise the function of the buttons on the remote, I'm actually trying to hunt it down at the moment if anyone wants to help me out
     
  9. wraithlabs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #9
    Remote Buddy is what you are looking for I assume.
     
  10. njaremka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #10
    the MBA doesnt have an infrared sensor, right? THAT's probably the reason it wont work with the apple remote.
     
  11. PAPO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    nah, it was a free one, oh well
     
  12. Blu101 macrumors 6502a

    Blu101

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #12
    I think you're right.

    Anyone who has a MBA should try a blue tooth remote (like the PS3's BD remote for example). Look in your blue tooth preferences or security preferences to see if it mentions remotes explicitly.
     
  13. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #13
    The Apple Remote works with VLC without any additional software.
     
  14. ingramLee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #14
    Hmmm.... I have the alumi remote and it doesnt work when I watch .avi's in VLC. Maybe I need to upgrade my VLC :confused:
     

Share This Page