New Apple TV power supply

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by 3rdiguy, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. 3rdiguy macrumors 6502a

    3rdiguy

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #1
    i wonder if the plug is the same so all I would have to do is disconnect my 3rd gen and plug in the 4th?
     
  2. Bamp macrumors newbie

    Bamp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    Hazen, AR
  3. DeftwillP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #3
    I'm in the same boat. Hoping that I won't have to take my 65" off the wall just to swap out the apple tv3 hidden on the back side of it. It'd be much easier to just swap out the boxes on the power supply. The plug looks the same.
     
  4. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #4
  5. DeftwillP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #5
    lol ok...well in that sense so do atv2 and atv3

    It still needs a plug.
     
  6. machpost macrumors 6502

    machpost

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    Looks like it should be the same type of plug.
     
  7. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #7
    It's clearly the same plug/socket, and while sometimes logic has nothing to do with it, logically, there's no reason for Apple to have changed it. It's an IEC-standard connector, and among connectors described by that standard, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_60320, the best suited to the application.

    I'd just toss in a safety/reliability caveat... while it'll be convenient to just swap out the box, it's not a bad idea to replace the cables (both this, and the HDMI) when you replace the box. Sure, you may end up replacing a known good cable with what turns out to be a faulty new cable, but you might balance that against the possibility you'd have to pull things apart a year or so down the line to replace the old cable.
     
  8. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #8
    I'm sorry. I was thinking the current aTV had one of those units that directly plugs in to a wall socket. Maybe I should have gotten up off my but and looked, instead of sitting here reading all these forum posts on the new aTV.
     
  9. bluespark macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Do you have room for the new one back there? The added thickness was among the most disappointing parts of the Apple TV announcement for me. We have several TVs in my household that are wall-mounted with Apple TV's mounted between the TV and wall. For aesthetic reasons, the TV mounts are very slim so there is nearly no added clearance. As a result, I'm afraid the new Apple TVs won't fit.
     
  10. x-evil-x macrumors 68030

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    you should have your wall mounts on a tilt anyway ^^^ I'm assuming yours are fixed
     
  11. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #11
    Totally unnecessary to change to the new cable.
    It's far fetched to suggest the cable has gone bad over a few years, the old one is perfectly safe.
     
  12. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #12
    Not suggesting it has gone bad, but that an older cable could go bad sooner than that new ATV will. After over 40 years of professional experience in recording and broadcast facilities and IT installations... it's not at all far-fetched. Part of the art of keeping tech facilities up and running 24/7 is staying a step or two ahead of Murphy, and this is one of the ways it's done.

    The new device comes with a new power cord, so if it's not inconvenient to replace it, why not replace it? And if you're going to sell/give away the old gear, why give the new owner the new cable?
     
  13. tonyr6 macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #13
    I am glad it is using the same cable. No annoying bulky power supply which means you can buy a power cable any length you need.
     

Share This Page