New "Attempting Data Recovery" After hard reset

Discussion in 'iOS 13' started by acorntoy, Jun 5, 2019.

  1. acorntoy, Jun 5, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019

    acorntoy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    Well this is new (been using hard resets since IOS 3 never saw this), I hard reset my iPad because of some issues and stumbled upon a new screen.


    Upon rebooting the iPad it went to a screen that was white and said "press home to recover", requested the password, twice, then switched to this page:


    [​IMG]

    Been 10+ minutes and iPad still hasn't restarted yet (12.9 2nd gen) I'd avoid hard resets if possible as they seem to cause more issues than in the past.


    EDIT:

    Took about 15 minutes for that page to go away, finally rebooted, ALL apps are now deleted and re downloading. Not sure why the hell this happened but avoid hard reseting your iPad on iPadOS.
     
  2. DeanLubaki macrumors 6502a

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    What do you mean by "Hard Reset"?
    The "Attempting Data Recovery" is not new: it dates from 11.3, and occurs in two situations: when HFS is being migrated to APFS, and when you update your iPhone from the DFU mode (iPhone not unlocked) and the data is being decrypted.
     
  3. acorntoy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #3
    https://www.idropnews.com/how-to/iphone-how-to/how-to-hard-reset-iphone-x/49967


    A hard reset, on the iPad it would involve holding the power button and home button until the device force reboots. Can be helpful if device stalls or doesn’t seem to be responding. Used it quite a few times in iOS 12 (beta and release) during stalls and never experienced this.
     
  4. Sunshoopa macrumors 6502

    Sunshoopa

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    #4
    Could possibly just be a bug in the beta, that doesn’t sound right at all. I’m sure people are scared to do it right now, but others should try it out. I’d do it but I don’t have a Mac/Dev acc to upgrade to 13.
     
  5. acorntoy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #5
    I'd love to see other testers try it out and see if it does the same. At the moment since it was every time for me I downgraded, it was usually the only way to get out of horrible beta bugs in the past and if its broken id rather wait.
     

Share This Page

4 June 5, 2019