New ATV interface unique to ATV3?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bunger, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. bunger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    #1
    I wonder if this "new" interface for the ATV will be unique to ATV or also available as a software update on the ATV2?
     
  2. aeronauticsrock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    #2
    Press release says atv2 will get interface update.
     
  3. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Correct the Interface update will come to ATV2
     
  4. gregd33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #4
    Pretty sure it is ATV3 only.. they mentioned that the UI is 1080p as well.
     
  5. bunger thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
  6. gregd33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #6
    It will?

    I guess I missed that part then...
     
  7. aeronauticsrock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    #7
    They didn't say it. It's in the press release.
     
  8. fr3nch13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    #8
    Link for the lazy. Pricing & Availability paragraph.
     
  9. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #9
    Quoted and bolded for the lazy linker.

     
  10. doktordoris macrumors 6502a

    doktordoris

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #10
    Will my ATV2 have the sexy front end Tim Cook showed us?

    JUst watched the presentation and the new ATV has a much prettier front end. Will there be an update for my ATV2 so it looks like that?
     
  11. gregd33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #11
    Awesome... thanks for the bolding.

    Its time I confess - I cannot read!

    There.. i said it.

    I feel a great weight being lifted after having come clean...
     
  12. chrisandersen macrumors 6502

    chrisandersen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #12
    Software update for my ATV2 still says up to date.
     
  13. super tomtendo macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    Apple TV2 Software Update?

    Is my ATV2 going to get the new apple tv UI software update? I don't see why not...
     
  14. tom123 macrumors regular

    tom123

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Yes

    Later today!! ref- engadgets.com
     
  15. super tomtendo macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    splendid! Obviously, it doesn't support 1080p, right?
     
  16. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
  17. super tomtendo macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    Tell me how it goes and looks - Still at work for another hour.
     
  18. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #18
    Well, it's kind of intense the first time you see those new colorful buttons on the screen.

    There's a new Nat Geo screensaver and all my purchased movies are available but no mention of HD.

    You can finally buy movies with the ATV2 alongside the rent button.

    When trying to watch a music video through iTunes Match, I have a TOS agreement I have to agree to followed by a content not found error. But trying again, it does work.

    Using the right arrow I can actually skip through music videos.

    Podcasts and YouTube are the same.
     
  19. Samelson03 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #19
    Will people with the Apple TV 2 still be able to get the new update?

    Topic
     
  20. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #20
    Yes, except it's still 720p for 2nd gen Apple TV.
     
  21. nwcs macrumors 65816

    nwcs

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
  22. dnelms macrumors regular

    dnelms

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    McGee's Crossroads, NC
    #22
    Yes, I downloaded and tried the new Netflix interface. Now I am getting Hdcp errors. HDMI cable still works fine with local streaming, so it rules the cable out. I still used my Roku for Netflix anyway, but I got he same error trying to look at music videos in my iTunes match account. Same errors on purchased content.
     
  23. Samelson03 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #23
    I had no idea it's available now! must go update!
     
  24. cryptonit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #24
    I hate this new UI. Is there any trick to come back to original one? With plain lists, not this toy icons? Help!
     
  25. potatis macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006

Share This Page