New Car or Mac Pro...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Freis968, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Freis968 macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #1
    I am always amazed at how maxing out a mac pro ends up costing this much...:eek:

    Naturally, one could save BIG by buying RAM and 1TB drives elsewhere, but did not do the math yet. It is just interesting to see what someone who does not know any better could end up with if they just bought through Apple.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Aaaand Wasteland.

    By the way, that isn't maxed out. Maxed out hits 22,000, I believe.
     
  3. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #3
    Why do people feel compelled do make these fantasy shopping baskets?

    I prresume this is just another of those "hypothetical" Shopping Baskets people make up and drool over.

    If you will make money to recoup the costs then go ahead.

    But I suspect this is not the case… ;)
     
  4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    meh. I'd go for the car as you probably don't need all that.
     
  5. waiwai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
  6. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #6
    I'm pretty sure that most people who max out a mac pro like that use it to make money and recoup the cost just like with any other business expense. Then of course there are those individuals who have so much money that its just a drop in the bucket for them.
     
  7. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
  8. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #8
    This post in kind of awkward, so is the part in bold.
     
  9. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #9
    1TB Drives, Yes

    RAM? No. Apples pretty competitively priced.
     
  10. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #10
    i do this for fun and that was the last gen one that hit 22,000 the new ones hit about 16,000
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    I do it for fun, too...

    Oh, wait... I'm actually living my dream now! :D:cool:

    Do they really only max at 16,000? That doesn't seem right...

    Okay, I checked. It can go higher, but the hardware won't all fit.
     
  12. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #12
    Nope, when skipping the software I get $19,196.

    This is of course not going for the glossy LED ACDs, but the matte 30" ACDs.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    I just did that, too, but I realized (see my last post) that that won't work.

    You can't have four GT 120 and the RAID card AND the fiber card. They don't all fit. :D
     
  14. liquidtrend macrumors 6502

    liquidtrend

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON, TX
    #14
    seems to be correct.
    i just maxed it out, and without the displays and such youre looking at 15,299 without the monitor(s), keyboard, and mouse.
     
  15. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #15
    I never noticed that, good call!

    I know I get tired of Dell's site telling me I have something wrong with my config, but I see how that is a blessing when you only have 4 open slots and I am trying to stick 7 PCI devices inside.

    Got it to $18,896 by dumping two GFX cards.
     
  16. liquidtrend macrumors 6502

    liquidtrend

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON, TX
    #16
    im just finding it impressive that the maxed out configuration is under the 23k mark, but a handful.
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    Has anyone ever tried to do that from Apple?

    I mean, it's not like many could AFFORD to try that on a real order that actually gets placed, but I'd like to know if, in the process of filling out the order, if Apple would call you and tell you...

    "Uh, sir, we were putting together your Mac Pro and we found that you wanted more PCIe devices than we had room for. Unfortunately, we figured this out after the guy in the factory had already tried to put them all in at once, so your order might take a few more weeks for us to pull all the broken pieces out..."
     
  18. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #18
    Truthfully, I think Apple would just ship you the PCI parts that didn't fit. :D

    So you'd wind up with some cards just taped to the side of your machine.
     
  19. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #19
    LOL i could picture someone pulling their maxed out pro from the box and seeing pci cards taped to the side.... WTF :confused:

    LOL :D
     
  20. rick3000 macrumors 6502a

    rick3000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Coast
    #20
    If you want an expensive Mac check out the Xserve with AppleCare, that's only $90,000. And it doesn't even come with a monitor.
     
  21. flanamac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #21
    Law of diminishing returns.

    At some point, the additional speed of the cores and RAM cost about $1,000 per nanosecond saved vs. only 5 cents for the first few million.
     
  22. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #22
    You would be shocked to see what people spend to get that extra nanosecond.

    These are data center classed machines for the most part. We buy rack mounted versions of these from HP in dual and quad CPU configurations and they start around 22k. Workstations in general have always been expensive.

    I've been sitting around for the last few hours trying to justify this to myself.

    I just can't do it...
     
  23. flanamac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #23
    yeah, some would argue photography and megapixels are the same way.

    I chose to invest (I choose invest as the verb on purpose vs. purchase), in a 21 megapixel pro camera vs something else because of the ability to crop in and print at a large size part of a photo. This is quite valuable to me and since I use it on my most important of human relationships, my family, I can easily justify the cost to my wife.

    As long as the camera is used, the investment is providing the expected return.

    Hope you make the right choice.

     
  24. Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando , FL
    #24
    I would Never Spend That Much !!!

    This the reason why we are in debt because we buy $20,000 mac pro when we know that they are not worth the investment like a House ...


    Oh Well to each of their own !!!!
     
  25. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #25
    yeah. i thought i was the only one who did that. guess not
     

Share This Page