New computer for a lovely biochem student

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by HexZeroRouge, Jul 23, 2007.

1. HexZeroRouge macrumors newbie

So i have been lurking around these forums for the past few months, but finally realized that i didn't have an account tonight. haha.

anyway. I start at SFSU in less than a month, and am looking into getting either a MB or MBP. Problem is, i have heard this and that about performance equity between the high end MB and the low end MBP.

I'm a biochemistry student, so i could potentially be running some semi heavy programs on my machine. I've been told by one apple rep to go for a MBP for the [slightly] faster processor and the video card, but another rep said i would be fine with a high-end MB after revealing my major.

so i desire input from you guys. help?

ps: the middle and high-end MBP aren't options due to financial constraints.

2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

I'm at UCSF in a similar field...I run a two-and-half year-old PowerBook, and it's plenty fast for my personal use. What programs do you have in mind?

3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

The MacBook Pro will be faster because of it using the faster Core 2 Duos and Santa Rosa platform. But unless you're going to be running very intensive programs on the computer all the time you probably won't notice the difference. You could go with either computer.

4. HexZeroRouge thread starter macrumors newbie

i didn't necessarily have any specific programs in mind. it was more like a just in case sort of thing. theoretical chemistry programs and the like could pose a potential problem.

but of course, i might not even need to run anything like that.

5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member