New CPU's for 5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jordan1990, Feb 9, 2015.

  1. Jordan1990 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #1
    Looking for new CPU's for my 8 core 5,1. Most likely will be the X5675 or maybe the X5680 if i can find some at a good price.

    My question is i see some people selling them as a "Matched pair" do i have to buy a matched pair?
     
  2. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    There was just a post on this somewhere on this forum. I'm just a single-CPU peasant so I didn't pay all that much attention to it.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    The answer is no, you do not have to buy a matched pair, however the CPUs need to be production units with the same markings. Don't buy pre-production units.

    I'm running X5677s and they were not a matched pair. In fact one of the CPUs had a defective memory channel and I replaced it with another, and all is well.

    Lou
     
  4. Jordan1990 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #4
    What do you mean by pre production? And how do i know if they are or not? To be honest due to price and the fact i am more interested in Ghz speed i think i will go for the X5677.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    ^^^^Intel builds pre-production models of their CPUs to distribute to see how they work, before final specifications for the specific CPU is finalized. The add for the CPU should tell you if it's the production version or not. At this stage, however, there are few preproduction models left. So, most likely, what you buy will be the final production model.

    Good Choice for the X5677. IMHO, eight fast cores is plenty, at least for what I do.

    Lou
     
  6. Jordan1990 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #6
    Two of these is what you have?

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/271641095732?_trksid=p2060778.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  8. Machines macrumors 6502

    Machines

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Fox River Valley , Illinois
    #8

    Do you have a factory Mac Pro 5,1 (2010-2012) or an upgraded Mac Pro 4,1 (2009) > Mac Pro 5,1 (2009) ?

    The factory 2010-12 Mac Pros - all configurations - are reasonably easy to upgrade with some TLC . The factory 2009 dual processor configurations are extremely difficult to upgrade , TLC doesn't even count ;)

    You do not EVER want to buy engineering samples (these are pre-production chips) , no matter how cheap . Undocumented errata will cause system instability . These test Intel chips are marked "confidential" , "ES" or something similar .

    Stick with production chips . These are the ones OEM used and also were available from retailers .

    An excellent resource to discover the specific chip designations would be available at CPU World .

    You want chips with core steppings of B1 .

    You want chips with sSpecs that are "production."

    For example , the fastest chips a Mac Pro 5,1 can accept are X5690 Xeons . Each of these chips has 6 Cores, 12 threads and a frequency of 3.46 GHz . They run very hot and you'll need to adjust your case fans appropriately .

    At CPU World , we see these chips have a stepping of "B1" (compatible in this Mac) and a choice of sSpec versions .

    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Xeon/Intel-Xeon X5690 - AT80614005913AB (BX80614X5690).html

    Some of these sSpecs may boot in your Mac Pro , but are actually incompatible for stability purposes because they are sample chips .

    sSpec Q4F1 (incompatible in this Mac - do not use !)
    sSpec SLBVX (compatible in this Mac) - OK to use !)
    Multiprocessing = 1 (do not use !)
    Multiprocessing = 2 ( OK to use !)

    So, to upgrade your Mac Pro with the fastest chips fully compatible with your Mac, buy chips that are marked on their surface SLBVX . It's that easy !

    There is a whole list of chips in the link of various performance , just scroll down and click on a model . Just make certain you get B1 and a sSpec version that is "production," and because you have a dual processor Mac already , you need chips that are listed at this site as "Multiprocessing = 2."

    Matching chips are those that have the same sSpec . I prefer to have matching chips .

    Here's a picture of the fastest ,compatible chip for your Mac Pro . Get two of these and you're ready to go ! :
     

    Attached Files:

    • $_12.JPG
      $_12.JPG
      File size:
      22.7 KB
      Views:
      208
  9. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    Also take note to ask the seller how will the cpus be packed and if they are clean without any residue of thermal paste. There was an old thread here about a member who complained that his cpus were packed in bubble wrap plastic and this may caused damage to the pins of the processor.
     
  10. Jordan1990 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #10
    Thanks for the replys,

    Yes it is a factory 2010 Mac pro not a flashed 2009. I am aware the X5690 is the fastest CPU for the mac pro, however its a bit out of my budget. The best i can hope for is the X5680 at a push or most likely the X5677. I will take a look at the link. Do i need to worry about the higher power consumption of 130w? Am i right in thinking even all the CPU's apple shipped in the MP's where 95w?

    I will message the seller and ask about the packaging because thats a good point, all the seller seems to sell is computer parts mainly CPU's so im sure they will package it correctly.
     
  11. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #11
    Correct, Apple shipped it only with 95W CPUs. I have seen occasional reports that 130W CPUs work fine, but I would make sure you use a lower-power graphics card then.
     
  12. Jordan1990 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #12
    Ah, im using a R9 280x which uses both the power ports from the logic board. Not sure how much power it actually uses, maybe id be safer sticking with a X5675 which i beileve is the best CPU at 95w?
     
  13. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #13
    Do these CPU's even have pins? I thought Intel moved to pin-less CPU's a while ago.
     
  14. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #14
    LGA = land grid array = no pins
     
  15. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #15
    Occasional Reports? I have not seen any reports where 130W CPUs have had any issue. Up the fan speed a bit and you'll be fine. As far as a Video card, My 780 GTX is running along just fine with my X5677s.

    Lou
     
  16. Machines macrumors 6502

    Machines

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Fox River Valley , Illinois
    #16
    The 130 W TDP chips work fine, even in dual configuration, if you bump up the fans a bit . I'm not even certain it's necessary with single processor Nehalem cMP , as Apple shipped a hot Six Core @ 3.33 GHz model from the factory .

    I've built more than one 12 Core @ 3.46 GHz ( 2 x 6 Core X5690) cMP and used SMCfancontrol to bump up both booster A and B fans to 2400 RPM and all the other case fans to 1600 or 1700 RPM . It's a little loud, but it's an awesome experience to see all cores at load for 12 hours and the hottest core not exceeding 78 degrees C . I don't care how sophisticated those chips are ... that will be one long lasting machine !
     
  17. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #17
    Thanks for pointing that out. My error. BTW congrats on your 2 classic Mac Pros coming in.
     
  18. Jordan1990 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #18
    What GPU where they using?
     
  19. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #19
    No worries. The overall advice was very good even if the specifics of pins doesn't apply. I wasn't sure when Intel made the switch and with which chips so I thought I'd ask. The new classics are on their way. I was pleased to read one purchaser said his was in great condition. I bought one for my brother (it's being shipped directly to his place) and the other I bought to resell (people here are asking $400 for 1,1 Mac Pros so I should be able to get a few dollars extra for a 4,1). The intent was to offset the cost of the new one for my brother. But who knows...I may just end up keeping it if I can't get the price I want out of it :D (So much for my New Years resolution of not buying systems I don't need).
     

Share This Page