New Driver Advice?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Xander562, May 19, 2007.

1. Xander562 macrumors 68000

Xander562

Hey, so I'm 17 and my parents finally agreed to let me get my learner's permit. Finally! :) :cool: Do you guys have any advice to give to a new driver / person who's learning how to drive?

2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Congratulations, and good luck!

My only piece of advice is learn to push a stick from the beginning. Automatic transmissions are for wusses. :D

3. pianoman181 macrumors regular

Here's a good piece of advice.

Don't get an accident. and Don't get a speeding ticket.

Beyond that, be careful... always pay attention... Be constantly looking around you seeing what's going on and where you can move your car to in an instant should you need to get out of the way of something. I turned 18 last december, so I've been driving for just over two years now (got my permit on my birthday), with my own car for about one and a half. Ticket and accident free. I've had a many a close call though, and it was just by always being very observative I was able to see something coming and get the hell out of the way in a safe manner (read: a drunk driver on the wrong side of the road! whoa! scary.) I pay for my own insurance and if you get a ticket, forget it! As if the insurance isn't absurdly expensive enough, just wait for that first ticket to come around. Good luck!

4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

-Go to a shopping centre on a Sunday, or whenever it's not busy to practice parking and to learn where the car is on the road.
    -Try to drive manual as much as possible, but if you have to drive an Auto, i find using left foot for brake and right for accelerator works better than right for both.
    -Clock up at least 100 hours of driving before you go for your driving test. I've found that I've improved in the last 20 hours of driving.