New Finder windows constantly

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by inglesworth, Mar 20, 2018.

  1. inglesworth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #1
    I have a Mac pro from mid 2012. I recently installed Sierra 10.12.6 on the system. I am now getting new Finder windows for every folder I open.

    I searched around and the only solutions I have found is to go to Finder preferences and to uncheck the "always open new windows" box, and to make sure that the toolbar is being shown.

    The toolbar is shown, and the other solution is old, because that check box is now to select whether to open new folders in tabs or windows. I wouldn't mind the tabs, as I could just ignore the tab bar, but when opening folders, it doesn't focus the new tab, so I have to go and select the tab after opening it. It's a pain in the @$$. If I select to open in windows instead of tabs, every folder I open is a new window. I work in a media facility and this is the computer I typically use for our data management and so every time I do anything, I go at least like 7-8 subfolders deep. and closing all of these windows the past week or so is getting really super annoying.

    Is there any way to force the Finder into just replacing the current window with the folder I am attempting to open? The way it works on literally every other mac I have used for the past 10 or so years?
     
  2. Shadow Jolteon macrumors regular

    Shadow Jolteon

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    If the box to always open in a new window is unchecked, then you may have some other issue going on. I've seen similar issues with keyboards that have a sticky shift key, since holding shift forces Finder to open folders in a new window.

    To replace the current window with the one you're opening, try holding the option key. If it is an issue with your shift key, or just Finder just thinking that key is pressed for some reason, this should replace the window. If that doesn't work, hold both option and shift when opening a folder and that will definitely replace those windows.

    If you're not noticing any strange issues like this in other applications, you might want to try clearing out Finder's preferences by deleting the file at ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.finder.plist, then restart or log out and back in. This should initialize most of the settings related to Finder.
     
  3. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
  4. inglesworth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #4
    I tried every combination of modifier keys I could think of and none of them worked. Trashing the Finder preference file didn't fix it either. But hose are good suggestions.

    I am not noticing any keys sticking in other apps I use on the machine. Also, the machine is set up headless and I am accessing it using the vnc protocol from another mac. Though I have indeed plugged a physical keyboard and monitor in to the machine and am still getting the same issue when set up that way as well. The point was more that the keyboard isn't showing any keys stuck down on the computer it is actually plugged in to either.

    Thanks for the suggestions, but unfortunately, it was a no go.
     
  5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    Well, I don't have the issue on my Mac. So, have you tried logging in under a different User Account?
     
  6. inglesworth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #6
    I tried creating a test user account and the finder windows act as I am hoping for. Is there a way to manipulate the settings somewhere on the existing admin account to go back to default or something? So I can just have it go back to the way it should be?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 20, 2018 ---
    Update:
    I just tried logging back in as the test user I created and now I am getting new windows for every folder I open on that account as well. No settings were changed at all. I just logged in (I was planning to try to copy the com.apple.finder.plist from this user library to the first user to see if it would overwrite whatever was going on there). But I just logged in as the new user and as I was attempting to navigate to the preferences folder to grab it, all the new windows came up.
     
  7. Shadow Jolteon, Mar 20, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2018

    Shadow Jolteon macrumors regular

    Shadow Jolteon

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    It definitely sounds like you're having some sort of preference issue somewhere on just your account if the other account is not having it and working directly on the machine without a VNC client connected produces the issue still.

    Are you using keyboard shortcuts when navigating in Finder, such as command + down arrow to open folders? Are you using an Apple keyboard and mouse, or third party ones?

    If you're using keyboard shortcuts, try checking out System Preferences » Keyboard » Shortcuts and see if there's anything related to opening things in a new window enabled. If you're not using shortcuts, try going to System Preferences » Mouse and see if your buttons are configured as they should be. Having a button configured as a middle-click can cause new tabs and windows to open in certain applications.

    As for putting the settings back to default, removing the com.apple.finder.plist file should normally do it. You can try adjusting Finder's settings in a way different from the default, remove that file, and log out and back in to verify it worked.

    Edit: Just saw your update. That is very strange. And you're not noticing anything else weird happening with any other applications? And this is without a keyboard/mouse/display connected to the machine? Just Ethernet and power, I'm assuming?
     
  8. inglesworth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #8
    Ethernet, Power, and a couple of usb license dongles. That's all that is plugged in to the machine, yeah.

    Other applications not affected. It's partially why I had upgraded the system. I would sometimes run into a situation where about 1/3 of the keyboard keys would stop working in a specific application that I used often. They would come back only after a computer restart. (NOTE: I did the upgrade to Sierra from Yosemite as a clean install - wiped the old system before installing Sierra from the installer. It's not an update install). I haven't had the bug in that specific app since.
     
  9. Shadow Jolteon macrumors regular

    Shadow Jolteon

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    I don't really think this would have much effect, but have you tried removing the license dongles and see if it persists? I don't think something like that would cause the problem, but it's worth a shot if it's something you're able to try.

    As for wiping and reinstalling the operating system: did you restore your computer from a Time <achine backup after that, or did you start fresh and just copy over what you needed? If you restored from Time Machine, it's possible whatever issue you were having before was restored, as well.

    May I ask what software it is you're running on this machine?
     
  10. inglesworth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #10

    No Time Machine backup of any kind. I just started over fresh.

    The app in question regarding the keyboard not working previously is Avid Pro Tools. Other applications I run on the system regularly: Safari, Firefox, Digital Pigeon, Aspera Connect, Signiant Media Exchange Desktop Client, Apple Remote Desktop, WakeOnLan, Mpeg StreamClip, Quicktime 7 pro, Keka.

    I have not tried without the license dongles. But I will try that in the next few hours and see if it changes anything. Though I don't see why it would.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 20, 2018 ---
    Another update... I didn't change any settings at all, and the Finder windows are currently working as expected. I don't know what the gremlins in this machine have in mind. Will it stop working again at some point? is it going to continue to be ian intermittent thing from now until the end of time? What is life? Why is it like this? So many questions. But if it just keps working, I will accept it and move on. Somehow I doubt that, though.
     
  11. inglesworth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #11
    So again, no changes in settings or anyting. COmputer has been running all night, no restarts or anything since the last post, and I am back to new Finder windows for every folder I open up again.

    This is really annoying. Does anyone out there have any ideas? The fine gentlemen above already have good karma in my book.
     
  12. Shadow Jolteon macrumors regular

    Shadow Jolteon

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    Really strange... One more thing that occurred to me is that Finder will always open a new window if the toolbar is hidden and you're in either icon, list, or Cover Flow view. If your toolbar is hidden when it is doing this, you can either switch to column view (which doesn't open new windows), or show your toolbar (View » Show Toolbar), and that may fix it.
     
  13. Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #13
    I thought up of all those same reasons as well why this same issue happens, but only over remote connection..

    Thing is, when Apple doesn't know, they start troubleshooting (new account, safe boot), and finally "reinstall OS' None of which may solve the problem,, just to isolate it..

    Sometimes its easier cutting straight through a hedge maze than going around
     
  14. inglesworth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    #14
    Yeah, tool bar is active. I tried disabling it and then reenabling it, and the issue went away. But then it just came back again like 20 minutes later. It's currently working correctly. It's really strange and frustrating that it just seems to turn itself on and off whenever it feels like.

    What does this mean? Are you telling me to reinstall the OS? Because it was a clean, fresh install (probably about 10 days old at this point). This issue has been going on pretty much since the install of OS, and I have tried all the ways I could find to fix it and posting here was basically when I was finally fed up and wanted to see if I could find anyone who might know what is going on.
     
  15. Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #15
    If its for local account, I'm have no idea if a new OS install doesn't work, (and quite frankly if Apple insists a new install, they don't know either)

    Just hope it would be fixed.
     

Share This Page