New GFX card for Skyrim?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MrPyronaut, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. MrPyronaut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #1
    I have recently installed Windows in my Mac with the intention of playing Skyrim, but I found out that my gfx card sucks. In fact, when I try to play Hearts or Solitaire on Windows it gives me a warning about my hardware acceleration and the game runs poorly.

    I currently have a NVIDIA GeForce GT 120. I feel I should upgrade this, but I don't have a whole ton of money (around $100 is about my spending ceiling) plus I have no idea what the hell I am doing. Any recommendations?
     
  2. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #2
    Unless your Mac is a MacPro (not a MacBOOK pro) your out of luck, either buy a PC or a new MAC as the MAC does not contain any user replaceable parts (memory and HDD excluded)

    If it is a MAC pro, expect to pay a good amount for a MAC video card, certainly more that $100 i would imagine.
     
  3. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #3
    I'd like to see what macbook has a GT 120. Very helpful. LOL

    OP: Last year I picked up a Sapphire RADEON 5770 Vapor X for $100 and flashed it to work on my Mac. I've had no troubles and it is about twice as fast as the 6750m in my Macbook Pro - which plays Skyrim fantastic 30-60 fps on High settings). There is a Mac version of the 5770 from Apple but is too expensive IMO. You can probably get a Sapphire 5770 off Craigslist for $80 now.

    Here is a good place to start: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,692.0.html
     
  4. bluemonkeyguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #4
    512mb in GDDR3 Memory *cringes, especially when playing skyrim*
     
  5. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    A 1GB Radeon 5770 should play it at 1080p on high. I have one :)
     
  6. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #6
    Isn't the 120 a rebadged 85 or 9500? If so then yes, a new GPU would help.
     
  7. shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    If you have the iMac with the gt 120, you could possibly swap with the gt130 or ATI 4850 (All came from the early 2009 24" iMac. Keep in mind I said possibly.



    If you have a Mac Pro with the gt 120, then you have a lot more options with the GPU.
     
  8. donuttakedonuts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #8
    Skyrim isn't even a demanding game.
     
  9. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #9
     
  10. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #10
    If you are talking VRAM then that 512 is only going to be an issue with a ton of hi-res mods, otherwise thats way more then enough for Skyrim.
     

Share This Page