New Graphic Card In Imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mr. lax, Apr 28, 2008.

  1. Mr. lax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Based on the new update today, can the first-gen aluminum iMac use the new NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS graphics processor with 512MB of GDDR3 memory?

    I know it would not be easy to install but if there is enough of a performance boost i may consider it.

    iMac model in sig

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    You would have to find a compatible 8800 card first.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. Mr. lax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    I have not yet heard of anyone upgrading the previous gen iMacs (7300GT to 7600GT) so I doubt it. Apple controls the card supply.
     
  6. Mr. lax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Aw... Thats a shame because i would update in a heartbeat if i could

    EDIT: On another thread i found some people saying that if i could find the card then i could potentially install it and use it?
     
  7. Niklaas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #7
    It should be possible, if apple didn't use new heatsinks.
    You had to find an Appe seller for Harware Replacement, who orders you this card and might needs therefor an device number from a new imac.
    I read from a guy how tested cards for his white Imac, in cooperation with MXM upgrade.(sadly, because of efi troubles, non of them really worked )
    In the end he orded himself an apple 7600 gt from such a store with no problems.
     
  8. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Does Apple solder in their GPUs? If they do, that will likely prevent you from swapping the GPUs without replacing the entire systemboard.
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    All recent iMac GPUs have come on separate MXM cards that can be slotted in. I don't think he intended to do a chip swap.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    The 24" iMacs have used a custom MXM style board in a mini-PCI Express slot. I believe that the 20" iMacs still have their GPUs soldered on.

    I don't see much of a reason to even attempt this massive and expensive warranty voiding procedure. If you want the new video card then please sell off your old iMac and buy the new one. It's much less of a headache.

    It's the 8800M GTS as well.
     
  11. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    I saw the MXM note which is why I was editing my post while you two were quoting it. :p
     
  12. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #12
    Im all for tweaking and customising things.. I would love to get one of those new 8800 cards and put it in my 2.4ghz 20" iMac.
    Im not so sure the alu 20" iMacs have soldered gpu's though? I only say this because in the iMac freezing fiasco a few months back, some folks got their gpu's replaced under warranty. 20" & 24". The last of the white 20" iMacs however, were definitely soldered.
    I realise it would not be a 5 minute job to swap cards however.. Still, I like a challenge :p But yes, I doubt it would be easy to get hold of the 8800 gfx card in the first place. And even if you could, I expect it would be expensive.

    Having said all that.. The Ati 2600 in my alu iMac performs pretty decently (I play UT3 in Winblows/Bootcamp). All settings maxed, bar the percentage thing which is at 60 or more %. Get between 30-45 fps for the most part (25fps at worst). The problem is, the damn thing still freezes occasionally, and it drives me mad :mad:
     
  13. Niklaas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #13
    hm, i thougt about this again last night.... how could it be possible that the have to underclock the 2600xt but can run the 8800 gts at normal settings....
    Also, i think the 8800M gts is a MXM type III card ( because of 256 bit), so they maybe really use new heatsinks.....
    anyway, when i find the link of the seller again i will post it in here.
     
  14. Mr. lax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    Hmmm ok sounds good. Like someone above mentioned this procedure would be too costly and dangerous, as well as voiding my warranty so... i think that i'm out for this one
     

Share This Page