New Graphics update messed up Airport/Internet

Discussion in 'macOS' started by buryyourbrideau, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Simple as the title says.

    Tried to reset cache, PRAM, re-entered network info and nothing has worked.

    Anyone else have this issue? Or know how to fix it?

    Also, it says its connected to the internet and has an IP but it still won't connect.

    HALP!
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Turn off AirPort and...

    Macintosh HD>Library>Preferences>SystemConfiguration

    remove:

    com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
    preferences.plist

    restart computer.

    See if that works...
     
  3. buryyourbrideau thread starter macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    No success.

    Looked everywhere and it sucks because apple won't help me out since my 90 days is long gone.

    :-(
     
  4. buryyourbrideau thread starter macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
  5. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #5
    Call apple bask and tell them you have a problem with the update. I have never been charged. You can also visit the Apple forms. Delete the entire system config folder contents and restart.
     
  6. buryyourbrideau thread starter macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Apple is closed for the night.

    Tried deleting configuration files and re-starting and still nothing.

    iPhone and other computers connect and run on the network just fine.
     
  7. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #7
    did the same to me - I re-ran software update, when it bitched (moaned) about no internet I let it run the network diagnostics and then it popped up 'your network settings have changed' and hey presto the Internets were back!
     
  8. buryyourbrideau thread starter macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    Tried this and still no good.

    In network diagnostics, all are green except internet and server.

    But like I said, all other machines are running just fine on the network.
     
  9. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #9
    any luck yet?

    might try a repair-permissions on the mac disk (just an idea)
     
  10. enochpeng macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #10
    when i try to delete pre. files it's shows that i don't have the permission

    what to do with it? please help im logged in with the only account in OSX

    /Users/epeng/Desktop/Screen shot 2010-08-23 at 1.25.21 AM.png
     

Share This Page