New Guy Looking to buy a used G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jack10525, Jan 15, 2009.

1. Jack10525 macrumors newbie

I am new to mac and would like to buy a used G5 to learn about them. I have a pretty good background with pc's and currently work in a windows environment. I have searched around and it looks like the best deals are on ebay. I can get a G5 tower with modest components/software for about $500. I am not worried about shopping on ebay but is there a better (cheaper)place to buy from? Also where can I learn about installing and configuring the os and other software? Thanks. :apple:

2. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

Would suggest you check out multiple mac sites to ask questions and read different post. Besides here, there is macnn, macobserver, macosxhints, etc.. . When in doubt, ask a question. There are also many books that will get you started too.

3. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

4. chaos86 macrumors 65816

chaos86

Why?

5. Winni macrumors 68030

Winni

I would -not- invest into a PowerPC-based Mac anymore, unless it is also the CPU that interests you for the one or the other reason. It's an investment in the past and a dead-end.

If it's the hardware architecture that interests you, then you should rather look into Linux than OS X; OS X for PowerPC doesn't have a future, but Linux for PowerPC is still under active development (openSuSE, Yellow Dog Linux, Fedora Core).

A used Intel-based Mac Mini already has as much or more computing power than a 500 USD PowerMac G5 - it won't have the graphics power, but its Intel Core Duo CPU easily competes with a 2 GHz Dual G5. And the Intel Mini can natively run Windows and Parallels and VMWare Fusion - just in case you want to get rid off your current PC.

6. synth3tik macrumors 68040

synth3tik

Leaky.