New hard drive in MacBook Pro won't boot

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Bmosorio342, Jan 1, 2015.

1. Bmosorio342 macrumors newbie

Hello all... Newbie here!

I just replaced the hard drive (to a 1T senate SATA) in my MacBook Pro and upgraded the RAM from 2, 2GB cards to 2, 8GB cards.

Hardware install went smooth, backed up old drive to time machine & made a USB of OSX for install on new drive.

I've gone in and reformatted the new drive with the proper settings (1 partition, journaled, etc...).

When I go in to boot up the system, the computer goes to apple logo grey screen and the loading bar comes up, loads to exactly the halfway point in about 6 minutes, then just sits there... For hours.

I've tried it many times always with the same outcome.

I need my computer for school TODAY! Please help!

Thanks!:mad:

2. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

Start by putting it back together using the original harddrive & RAM. If it works you didn't break anything, then put in one upgrade at a time when school isn't a priotity.

3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

Which MBPro do you have?
    and
    Which OS X version are you installing?

Is the stall during boot to the OS X installer?
    Or, does the install complete, and you are just at the second boot (where it would boot from the newly installed system?)

Finally, it may make a difference which SSD you have (brand and model?)

4. Bmosorio342 thread starter macrumors newbie

DeltaMac,

Early 2011 Unibody MacBook Pro 13"

Yosemite (latest version)

Stall during OSX installer not second boot

1T seagate SSHD Hybrid

Thanks so much!

5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

OK
    Sounds like you have a improperly created installer drive.

If you have the Yosemite installer app saved, redo your installer with good directions. (Otherwise, you will need to download the Yosemite installer again) Here's a site that I know works for creating a good Yosemite flash drive installer: