New Hard Drive Problems

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by xJulianx, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #1
    So my new Toshiba 200GB 2.5" SATA hard drive came through the post today. I went to put it into my hard drive enclosure, so I could clone my stock 80GB drive onto it but the connections don't match up at all.

    Heres a quick picture of the hard drive and the enclosure next to each other if that helps at all...
    [​IMG]

    I'm not sure what the problem is really, as the enclosure is for 2.5" hard drives and the hard drive is definitely 2.5". Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. charmin macrumors member

    charmin

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    W. London
    #2
    I don't know if it's the light, or the camera, but that drive looks like 3.5" from where I'm sitting.

    How about a picture with a ruler in shot? :p
     
  3. xJulianx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #3
    It's definitely 2.5", you can't tell from a birds eye view angle how fat the drive is anyway :confused:

    Something has just struck me, I didn't consider the fact I would need a SATA enclosure for the hard drive...I always thought they were universal, would I be right in saying I need a SATA enclosure as opposed to a 'regular' one?
     
  4. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #4
    Are you sure you don't have a SATA drive and an IDE/ATA drive? (ie two different types of connectors)
     
  5. mperkins37 macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  6. heySparky macrumors regular

    heySparky

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Yep, a SATA hard drive needs a SATA enclosure, something like This Enclosure.
     
  7. xJulianx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #7
    Dohh! Silly me. :eek:


    Ah well, guess I'll have to fork out another ~£20.
     
  8. island macrumors 6502

    island

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #8
    SATA is the newer standard; quite faster when you up the RPMs
     
  9. xJulianx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #9
    Okay, I've just ordered myself a 2.5" SATA enclosure for £15 which I'm pretty happy about.

    Now I was just wondering if I could get some opinions on Carbon Copy Cloner and Super Duper. I've heard a lot of good things about both of them and was wondering if one is better than the other or if it's just down to personal preference.
     
  10. Ashapalan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #10
    I've never used carbon copy cloner so i can't say which is better, but Super Duper really is a nice stable program.

    When i replaced my powerbooks hard drive (which i did in much the same way as you are) i simply formatted with disk utility and then used Super Duper to make a bootable clone.

    Been using Super Duper for a year now and i have never had a problem with it. :)
     
  11. charmin macrumors member

    charmin

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    W. London
    #11
    oo! oo!

    I've been banging on for ages about SD!

    I've never used CCC, but SD is brilliant. It can do a 'Smart Update' (sync) of 300GBs of data with 500MB of changes from my iMac in 5 minutes.
     
  12. xJulianx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #12
    So just to clarify, the process of ghosting my current HD onto the new one will go something like this:

    1. Put new HD in enclosure
    2. Format using disk utility (to what format do I format the disk?)
    3. Run SD/CCC to ghost old drive content to new drive
    4. Install new HD into MacBook


    Anything I'm missing?
     
  13. charmin macrumors member

    charmin

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    W. London
    #13
    Sounds good to me, as long as CCC makes bootable backups if you intend to use it. SD definitely does.

    For the format, use "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" (HFS+). Don't use UNIX File System (UFS) or "Mac OS Extended (Case-sensitive)" unless you know in advance that you DEFINITELY need to, because they can cause compatibility problems.

    It goes without saying that you shouldn't use the MS-DOS filesystem :p
     

Share This Page