New Hard Drive Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sportsfanMAW, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. sportsfanMAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #1
    So i just got a new External hard drive and i was wondering how i should back it up and what programs i should use. I am backing up my hard drive because i have to take my macbook in and get something repaired and they said it may erase my hard drive. So if someone could give me info about backing it up and what i should do that'd be great!

    Thanks!
     
  2. sportsfanMAW thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #3
    thanks.

    So i will be able to make an exact copy of what i have now if my hard drive is erased correct?
     
  3. joekix macrumors 6502

    joekix

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    earth, long beach CA to be exact
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #5
    Another option is Carbon Copy Cloner.

    With CCC or SD, you can make a clone of your MB HD onto the external HD.

    Then you can do a clean install of the OS on the MB HD to erase any personal data.

    Then upon return from Apple, clone the external HD back onto the MB HD.
     
  5. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #6
    I prefer SuperDuper, but I can't wait for lepord and time machine to come
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #7
    SD and CCC both have their advantages.

    The new Beta of CCC is nice.

    As for Time Machine, I don't believe that you will be able to clone a HD with it.

    I am looking forward to the application that can backup an entire HD including a Windows BootCamp partition.
     
  7. stealthsniper96 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #8

    that would be cool. and someone mentioned time machine and that struck a thot. say i back up my drive with super duper andthen install leopard. when i first plug my drive in on leopard (assuming itll work as they say) it will give me the option to use the disk for time machine. that worries me- will that reformat it? then ill loose all my data. and what happens if i say no? it would be kina stupid if i couldnt go in later and set it up for T.M. but i dont know. thoughts on my mindless worries?
     
  8. sportsfanMAW thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
  9. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #10
    Some good questions. At this point, the complete features of Time Machine are not completely known. Guess we will have to wait until Leopard is released.

    IMHO, there will still be a need for programs like SD and CCC.
     

Share This Page