New hard drives be seen by windows and osx?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lizinthesky, May 3, 2008.

1. lizinthesky macrumors newbie

Hi

I just bought a mac pro, hevent even turned it on yet - so excited!

I have a question - I bought two extra 500Gb drives for it third party. I want to use bootcamp on this new machine, and I want the drives to be able to be read and accessed by both operating systems.

Is there any particular method of setting up the new drives, in terms of file systems etc, I need to be aware of? I'm relatively new with playing with hardware in macs, I've had a laptop until now.

Liz

2. H$R macrumors 6502

H$R

You have to format the externals with FAT32.

The Mac's internal hard drive is formatted with HFS+ journaled.
    Windows uses normally NTFS which can be read by Mac but not written on (without special software at least).

So you have to format it with your Mac (search for "Disk Utility" on your Mac or look further in the forums, there are many how to's and it's not very hard.)

Windows could also format it with FAT32, but it only would format the first 32GB, which is not good for your 500GB drive of course. If it's for example an Western Digital drive, then you could go to their website and look for a reformat tool, those normally can also format you whole drive (as your Mac does)

I have an external drive myself (I've put my oringal MB drive in an external case after I upgraded the my MB), which I use with Windows XP, Mac OS X, Linux. Only Vista doesn't really like it and produces some errors sometime. But it also should work with Vista.

With FAT32 you have a limitation: you can't save files on it which are bigger than 4GB. So if you're doind video editing with big files or something like this, then you won't be able so save it on you're external drive.

In such a case, you could to several partitions on the external drive, for example one with HFS+ (to save big files) and one with FAT32 (to share files with Windows)