New Harddrive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Networkrail, Nov 15, 2015.

  1. Networkrail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #1
    evening everyone,

    I've just upgraded my hard drive in my MacBook Pro 13" late 2011 to a WD 1TB and created a cloned of my existing drive but for some reason the machintosh HD partition is only showing 749.3 GB of space but the drives capacity is 1TB.

    I've tried to increase the size of the partition by dragging the box down to the bottom then pressing apply but it tries to do it the. Reverts back to the 749.3gb.

    Can anyone tell me how I can increase the partition size to the full 1tb capacity?
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    Do you have Time Machine On?
    It happened to me in the past that if it is one and you haven't connect to Time Machine, the Apple Portables eat u some of the space by creating some local backup until you connect it again o Time Machine.

    Any recovery partition?

    I my old MacBook I needed to run these every once in a while to have the right drive sizes reported in the Finder:
    http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/maintscripts.html

    Keep in mind this too.
    1 TB = 1,024 GB = 1,204 MB = 1,024 KB = 1,024 Bytes
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Run each of these command in Terminal one after the other and tell use the output of each so we can try and help.

    Code:
    diskutil list
    
    diskutil cs list
     
  4. Networkrail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #4
    Okay this is what I get:

    Last login: Mon Nov 16 19:09:33 on console

    Lees-MBP:~ leerigby$ diskutil list

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_CoreStorage Macintosh HD 749.3 GB disk0s2

    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3

    /dev/disk1 (internal, virtual):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD +748.9 GB disk1

    Logical Volume on disk0s2

    200EE850-C2EB-46E2-82FF-92542DAD18FA

    Unlocked Encrypted

    Lees-MBP:~ leerigby$ diskutil cs list

    CoreStorage logical volume groups (1 found)

    |

    +-- Logical Volume Group 1487B511-0757-4E9B-AA4E-71EA9C0CC8EC

    =========================================================

    Name: Macintosh HD

    Status: Online

    Size: 749296615424 B (749.3 GB)

    Free Space: 18939904 B (18.9 MB)

    |

    +-< Physical Volume 8DC65FBE-7583-4CB3-ABFA-667EB7AA8FCF

    | ----------------------------------------------------

    | Index: 0

    | Disk: disk0s2

    | Status: Online

    | Size: 749296615424 B (749.3 GB)

    |

    +-> Logical Volume Family C240B078-63E3-499D-9DDC-4A5FA37978F8

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Encryption Type: AES-XTS

    Encryption Status: Unlocked

    Conversion Status: Converting (forward)

    High Level Queries: Not Fully Secure

    | Passphrase Required

    | Accepts New Users

    | Has Visible Users

    | Has Volume Key

    |

    +-> Logical Volume 200EE850-C2EB-46E2-82FF-92542DAD18FA

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Disk: disk1

    Status: Online

    Size (Total): 748925353984 B (748.9 GB)

    Conversion Progress: 0%

    Revertible: Yes (unlock and decryption required)

    LV Name: Macintosh HD

    Volume Name: Macintosh HD

    Content Hint: Apple_HFS

    Lees-MBP:~ leerigby$
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Okay.. the issue is you have FileVault turned on and you cannot resize a volume in Disk Utility with FileVault on. You will need to turn off FileVault and wait for it to unencrypt then you can resize normally.

    I am troubled by these two lines though. How long ago did you turn on FileVault because it appears it has not encrypted anything yet? How did you do the clone?

    Code:
    Conversion Status: Converting (forward)
    Conversion Progress: 0%
     
  6. Networkrail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #6
    I cloned the hard drive using a HDD docking station.

    How do I turn off file vault?
     
  7. Networkrail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #7
    Okay I've found it but it's encrypting the drive and I don't know how to stop it.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    How long has it been encrypting? You will need to wait for it to finish encrypting before you can turn off FileVault. You can turn it off in the Security and Privacy pane in System Preferences. There is a tab there for FileVault.

    What software did you use to clone?
     
  9. Networkrail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #9
    I never used any software it's just an a-b hard drive hub that clones hard drives one to another.
     
  10. Networkrail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #10
    Okay, I've decrypted the hard drive and now it's showing that the disk partition is at full capacity but still only shows 750gb when the real capacity is 1TB.
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Okay run this command again and tell me what it says.

    Code:
    diskutil cs list
     

Share This Page