New HDD but no install disc ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mathers, May 17, 2015.

  1. Mathers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #1
    Hi need help the HDD on my MacBook Pro broke so I got a new HDD but I haven't got the install/recover disk? What can I do ?
     
  2. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #2
  3. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #3
    Hi it's a MacBook Pro 13.3 750gb on moutain lion 10.8 ?
     
  4. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #4
    Which model exactly : /About this Mac/More infos

    Do you have a backup, Time machine or clone ?
     
  5. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #5
    Sorry can't get on the apple sign to find out as hard drive was fubard! But do have a time machine back up on an external hard drive ?

    ----------

    If I install OS X on a memory stick can I do it that way?
     
  6. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #6
    If you have a Time Machine backup on an external drive, it is bootable (from Lion 10.7.2)

    1. connect the Time Machine disk

    2. start the Mac with the "Alt" key down on chime

    3. on the startup screen you should see the Time Machine disk

    4. select it with the keyboard arrows and hit Enter to boot up from it

    5. once you have the "OS X Utilities" window, select Disk utility

    6. format your new disk as "Mac OS X extended journaled"

    7. quit Disk Utility

    8. back to the OS X Utilities window, select "Restore from a Time Machine backup"

    See : http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1659578

    and : http://pondini.org/TM/14.html
     
  7. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
  8. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #8
    Hi tried what you said but when I partition the new hard drive it says partition failed with the error : file system formatter failed?
     
  9. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #9
    You do not need to partition the new drive.

    Use the "Erase" tab:

    - select the new SSD in Disk Utility
    - select the "Erase" tab
    - select Mac OS X journaled extended
    - click "Erase"
    - quit Disk Utility
     
  10. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #10
    Ok it says disk erase failed with error : file system formatter failed?
     
  11. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #11
    Ok try this :

    - select the new HD in Disk Utility
    - Partition tab : replace "Current" with "1 partition"
    - Name : what you want ("Macintosh HD" for example)
    - Format : Mac OS X extended journaled
    - click the "Options" button, make sure "GUID partition scheme" is selected
    - OK, then "Apply"
     
  12. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #12
    Hi it's still saying file system formatter failed when I try to partition #
     
  13. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #13
    Did you use the "Options" button to check that GUID is selected ?

    If yes, what is this new hard drive, exactly ?
     
  14. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #14
    Yes used that option the hard drive is Toshiba 2.5 sata MQ series 1TB
     
  15. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #15
    Could you please select the new HD ("Toshiba...") in Disk Utility, and post a picture of the Disk Utility window ?
     
  16. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #16
    Yes here it is
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #17
    It looks fine...:confused:

    This thread suggest to partition in TWO partitions to solve the issue (do not understand why, though...) :

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=904743

    You might give this a try...

    If it still does not work, I would say that either the hard drive or the SATA cable has a problem.
     
  18. zone23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #18
    I usually just select partition layout and pick one then name the drive "Macintosh HD" also under format Mac OS Extended (Journaled). So If I hit partition and it has an error then I hit erase then try again. Hostly it should be that hard and if it is then maybe something is wrong with the drive you bought.
     
  19. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #19
    Thank you for all your help tried 2 partitions but still no good I'm gonna try taking hard drive back to the shop and getting a different one # thanks again
     
  20. Mathers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #20
    Ok been and swapped the hard drive for a new one and went through the steps you told me and fingers crossed it all seems to be working # haven't used time machine as dint know if that was the problem with the first one incase the corrupt file off the original HDD was on the back up? Thanks again for all your help ##
     
  21. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #21
    If you have formated the new hard drive successfully, you can now "Restore from Time Machine backup".

    The problem you had was the new hard drive was faulty, now that you have replaced it, you can safely use your Time Machine backup.
     

Share This Page