new hdd & SL- need help in migrating XP virtual machine fusion (not Bootcamp)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacNchedder, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. MacNchedder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #1
    I have tried searching the forum and am now more confused than before.
    I have upgraded to Snow Leopard on a new Seagate 500 GB (7200.4) using an external USB connector to the new Hard Drive, and will ultimately have it installed in my early 2008 15" MBP. I also run XP via a Fusion virtual machine, not Boot Camp.

    Migration Assistant moved everything over, including XP.vmwarevm (located in Users/MainMac/Documents/Virtual Machines). However, XP will not load. Thus do I need to use Winclone and SuperDuper even though I am not using Boot Camp? What files do I clone? Does a complete explanation exist in the forum?

    Can I later install XP via Boot Camp? Do I have to do a completely new installation, or can I somehow import the virtual machine?

    Finally, I am running Fusion 2.06. Do I need to upgrade to 3.0? v2.06 was supposedly updated to play nicely with SL.
     
  2. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #2
    When you run fusion does it show the xp vm in the list? If so when you select it what is the response? It should ask if it was copied or moved; always select moved.

    If not can you post pics of what you're seeing?

    Cheers?
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    What error message (if any) are you getting.

    You shouldn't need winclone or anything because you basically copied your entire windows environment and it shouldn't even notice that you changed.

    what happens when you double click on the vmx file

    I've been able to move my virtual environments to a new HD without any problems and I had no need to run winclone or any such utility
     
  4. MacNchedder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #4
    No idea what happened, but now vmware loads and XP does too!
    Should I upgrade to Fusion 3.0 or does 2.06 work well enough?
    Can I also set up Boot Camp using my existing virtual machine, since now I have adequate HD space?

    Cheers,
    MNC
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I'd recommend upgrading to 3.0 as it offers a number of features.

    As for converting your existing VM to bootcamp - not possible. You basically need to partition your HD using bootcamp (non-destructively so you don't lose data) and then install windows. There's no mechanism to migrate VM to bootcamp.
     
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #6
    In the Windows world there are 3rd party IT tools to go V2P (virtual2physical). They are not inexpensive. I can check with the engineers at work if the OP is interested in trying them on a Mac. However, these tools mess around at the hardware level and if they work on a Mac may result in OSX data loss.

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page