New (I)Mac User. Need Advice.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Kerel, Jun 6, 2011.

1. Kerel macrumors member

I got my new/first Imac 21,5 saturday(base 2011). And i absolutly love the speed, screen and build quality but Mac Osx needs getting used to.
    I thought the transition would be easier.
    I probably need to give it more time.

Can anyone give me some advice on Os X or sites with good info for new Os X users or programs i really need. Downloaded firefox, istatspro and utorrent sofar.

Some personal info: i used to be a pc builder and gamer but the last couple of years i've been using a Sony VAIO VGN-A317S from 2005 (a really really good laptop with a good bright screen but to slow now). Had difficulties with flash.

2. John T macrumors 68020

John T

Welcome!
    Probably the best book on OS Snow Leopard is "Mac OS Snow Leopard the missing manual" by David Pogue. Available from Amazon. This explains in simple to follow form, pretty well everything there is to know about the OS.

If you want a series of video tutorials, this site can't be beaten. Apart from Snow Leopard, it includes tutorials for a number of the more advanced Mac Appliccations such as Aperture.

3. Darksheer macrumors newbie

Hi Kerel,

I too have recently made the move to a iMac 2011, however mine is a 27" with SSD so it still has not arrived. Even though I have been using the Mac OS X for the last 1yr+, I decided after purchasing my new IMac to start reading up on it and hopefully fill in any blanks that I may have missed from just playing arround previouslly.