New iMac: 2.8 or 3.06?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Colin Hoernig, Aug 19, 2008.

1. Colin Hoernig macrumors newbie

I just sold my Macbook Pro in order to purchase an iMac, and I'm about to order, although, I have a dilemma. I have enough money to purchase the 3.06ghz 24" 8800 GS, but buying the 2.8ghz 24" 8800 GS REFURB would save me over $500. So here's my question: Is the .26ghz bump in CPU speed worth it (as well as 180 more GB on the HD)? I know it's all a matter of what programs you run frequently, and what you plan on doing with the computer, so heres my life.

I am a senior in high school, but as of right now I have a job at a local studio filming wedding ceremonies and other festivities of the sort. I am one of the primary editors working with FCP for hours upon hours a day. I do a lot of After Effects work as well, and render times weren't as quick as I'd like them with my MBP. I am also a freelance programmer, working with xcode and Visual Studio daily compiling large projects (which means I run Windows XP, either in a virtual machine or in Bootcamp).

Photography and graphic design are other hobbies of mine, I love to work in Illustrator and in Photoshop. I'm editing many RAW files at a time out of my D200, so it can get pretty intensive.

Anyways, would I notice a large increase in speed for what I do, if I spring for the 3.06 and add 2 gigs of RAM?

Thank you so much to anybody who helps,
    Colin

2. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68020

Cheffy Dave

Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    If I were you, I'd go for the fastest Processor, and the most Ram, and frost the cake with the biggest hard drive;):apple::apple::apple:

3. zer0tails macrumors 65816

zer0tails

How long do you plan on keeping the iMac? If you won't be upgrading for another 4 years, I'll go for the 3.06. Otherwise, 2.8 is fine. The speed difference between them is not astronomical so it's no biggie.

4. Muncher macrumors 65816

Muncher