New iMac 20inch 2.0 or 2.4

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nufcfan, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. nufcfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #1
    Hi

    Decided to make the move from my 2 year old dell inspiron 6000 laptop to a mac. Dont really need the portability so i think the iMac is the way to go, rather than a macbook.

    Im unsure which model to go for, i want the 20inch because its more than big enough but cant decide whether to go for the basic 2.0ghz or the 2.4ghz.

    IS the difference between the two noticable (mainly the processor and graphics card as 250gb is ample HD for me).

    Has anyone here got the basic model got any thoughts? or wished they had spent the extra cash and got the 2.4ghz model?

    Using apples higher education discount the difference between the tow is around £135 (£835 as opposed to £702)

    Thanks
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I suggest going for the midrange 20" model and not the low end.
     
  3. bc008 macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    i am perfectly happy with my base end imac, although i was thinking of returning it for about a half an hour ;) (nothing wrong with it, long story)

    i really see no problems with graphics, but if you have the extra money you might as well upgrade, if not, the base end imac will be great also.
     
  4. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #4
    If you can afford it go with the 2.4 20". If not then the lower end one is still a very good computer.

    I have the 2.4 with 1 GB of ram and this computer does great. It handles multitasking like a champ. the only thing that i feel i need to upgrade soon is Memory but that is a given.
     
  5. nufcfan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #5
    yeah i would look to upgrade the memory eventually but not straight away.

    I currently have my music collection using windows media player, can i transfer all of these files quite easily to the mac?

    I would also be looking to get the new iwork with pages etc on as i use word etc on my windows laptop at the moment.

    I understand the new mac version of office is not out untill after christmas, is that right? im sure iwork would be more than sufficient to keep me going until then.

    Can you download a mac version of windows messenger?
     
  6. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #6
    You should be able to move you music from WMP over to the Mac as long as this music is not protected by some kind of DRM software only found in windows. You might want to double check that.

    I am using iwork ATM and it works great. I use it for personal things only and i have not had problem opening iwork docs on office or vice versa. You might want to check if the more advance features in office are supported.

    I use Adium for MSN or any other IM client out there.
     
  7. nufcfan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #7
    Thanks

    I have no real need for the advanced features in office to be honest, just basic word processing etc.

    Now got the decision about buying now or when leopard comes out, will probs wait as its not long now
     
  8. ScubaDuc macrumors 6502

    ScubaDuc

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    I got an iMac on order but I am undecided for the memory...

    I don't understand why I have to get DDR2 667 which is the same memory my MacMini and MacBook use :confused:

    They changed the chipset to Santa Rosa with an 800 bus so why not DDR2 800 memory? I saw it on sale and therefore exhists with 200 pns

    Apple charges over 800 Euro for an upgrade to 4 giga :mad: Assuming one spends that kind of money, chances are that Apple will release a bios update to use the latest RAM...eventually :rolleyes: Am I wrong?

    They told me (Apple store) that the new iMac is better because it has a faster bus, among other things but they did not explain me what difference the faster bus makes if the memory is still the same old :rolleyes:
    Also, they are adamant in saying that with 4 giga it works much better than with 2 and for the original poster, I went ahead with the extreme 2.8 Gh

    Can any of the experts tell me if I can go ahead with the DD2 800 rather than the 667??? :confused:
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    All components are attached to the processor via the front side bus.
     

Share This Page