New iMac 24", upgrading RAM: QuEsTiOn!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by theman, Aug 22, 2007.

  1. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #1
    I am getting a new iMac 24" 2.4ghz for work, and I want 2gb Ram. But, I don't want to buy off apple store because I can get a better deal somewhere else. but then I would have to upgrade my ram since they all come with only 1gb. So, i have some total no0b questions

    1. What's the best brand to buy? Just go apple for $150?

    2. If I use non apple ram, will it void the warranty or anything?

    thanks guys.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    1. Don't buy Apple RAM.
    2. No it won't void it.
     
  3. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #3
    Adding RAM won't void your warranty.

    Apple's RAM is expensive, but you do get the convenience of having everything set up and good to go from the off, which is sometimes nice when buying a new machine.

    It's up to you, convenience Vs. cost.

    I added some RAM to my MacBook and whilst in theory it is straightforward, I found they the RAM has to be really forced in hard for it to take. I some good advice from Macrumors members, but it was a bit of a panic when my MacBook wouldn't start up.
     
  4. Subculture macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #4
    I like Crucial or Kingston ValueRAM.

    I just upgraded my new 20" to 3GB using Crucial.

    Ran a full RAM test via Apple's hardware diagnostic CD and TechTool Deluxe. No issues. And Parallels works great with the extra RAM.

    Tip: I ALWAYS run memory testing software when adding new RAM to any system (Mac or PC). You don't want to be screwing around with bad or incompatible RAM.
     
  5. theman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #5
    Another question. If I but 3rd party ram, would I need to buy 2 new sticks, or just 1x1gb stick? Would it not be bad to have 2 sticks of different brands? What is the best brand to get that is at least less expensive than apple?

    BTW, I have had a lot of experience building PCs, so I know what I am doing with hardware, just not apple hardware. This is just my 2nd mac, and the 1st I have upgraded. Yeah, I always run diagnostics on my ram. is that the only diagnostic there is for macs? Also, where is a good guide for doing this?
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  7. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    The new iMacs come with a single 1 GB stick so you only need 1 more. As for brand recommendations Crucial, Corsair, Kingston.
     
  8. theman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #8
    yeah, i understand it comes with one stick. my question was, would it be bad to have 1 apple stick and one kingston/corsair/crucial stick that has different specs? would it have different specs? Because I know in a lot of situations with PCs that is a bad idea, but I have no clue with imacs.

    How does THIS look? Corsair has always been reliable for me. Is that on the cheap side of things, or is that pretty good?
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    Those should be fine
     
  10. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #11
    Whenever I encounter RAM questions of this nature I like to reference the RAM Buying Guide that we have right here on MacRumors, as it saves people a lot of time. The main RAM guide is here. :cool:
     
  11. theman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #12
    yeah, but still, does it matter if i have two different brands of ram in my machine at one time?
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    No
     

Share This Page