New Imac 27" and future gaming

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Maniia, May 7, 2011.

  1. Maniia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    Hello, I've got a few questions about the new Imac 27" 3.1, before I go out and spend 2.883$(The danish price in $) on the beast.
    So, I'm gaming a lot, but when I'm not gaming, I'm working in Photoshop and programs like that. Already got a MBP 15", but it's not my primary PC, but it did make me want to make the switch from my primary system (Win7 PC) to Mac. Love the OS.

    Anyways, I saved up some cash for a new system and I'm considering the new Imac as it just got a good update. But my question is, will it be able to run games like Diablo 3 and more importantly Battlefield 3 when they come? I'm not a GFX slut, I can settle with around medium settings, I just want to be sure that I can run BF3 and D3 smoothly when the time comes, without having to run everything on very low. Also, I think BF3 will set the bar for graphics in 2012, so if you can run BF, you should be able to run everything else :p


    So yea, what do you guys think. Will I be able to run games for the next year or two without low fps and to low settings, if I choose the new Imac. I know I can get a kickass system for around 2k, thats way better, but I'm not just about the specs. I love the design, the features, the fact that I will be working in Mac OS when I'm not gaming and more.

    And finally, do I need some extra cables to plug in my ACD? I didnt see a mini-display port on the back of it? :/
     
  2. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #2
    Well, I can't say for sure about a game that hasn't yet come out - some games are released with shamelessly stupid requirements (Crysis, anyone...?!), but they're rare. Thank Christ.


    I think you'll be fine, mate. Currently 'new' games like Crysis 2 and Portal 2 are running well on High+ settings. That will taper gradually but, next year...? I think it'll still be doing a good job. Provided you get the 6970m.
     
  3. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #3
    Sorry...? Which ACD is this?
     
  4. 5piN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #4
    Apple Cinema Display!
     
  5. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    Yeah, I mean... where is it in your story? It just turns up at the end!!!

    What size? How old is it?
     
  6. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #6
    Is it an older ACD that uses DVI? If so, you can just get a MDP-DVI adaptor.
     
  7. Maniia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #7
    Alright, good to hear :) Sounds promising. Also just saw a vid of some guy playing Crisis 2 at pretty high settings on the new Imac, so that's cool. And yea, It's the biggest version I'm considering to buy.

    And the ACD is a 24, bought last May.

    Edit: Also, said " I didnt see a mini-display port on the back of it? :/" So, yea, my ACD uses the Mini-DVI :)
     
  8. dh2005 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #8
    I think you'll be happy with it, mate. Your needs sound similar to mine.
     
  9. Maniia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #9
    Yea, after looking around some more, I think so too. Also just noticed that the mini display-port cables works with the Thunderbolt ports, so that's just awesome.
     

Share This Page