New Imac 5K - Brick out of the box

zippymedia

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 20, 2014
4
0
My first Imac (WooHoo) and it actually arrived by the delivery window.

  • 4.0GHz QC i7, TB up to 4.2GHz
  • 32GB 1867MHz DDR3L (4x8GB) - work is paying for the ram
  • 1TB Flash Storage
  • AMD Radeon R9 M395X w/4GB

Open box. Turn it on. My poor Imac just constantly chimes and restarts to a black screen (no logo).

Called support. Reset NVRAM. Reset the SMC. Nothing same constant restarting.

It needs to go back.

:(
 

mfouks

macrumors member
Dec 10, 2012
74
1
My first Imac (WooHoo) and it actually arrived by the delivery window.

  • 4.0GHz QC i7, TB up to 4.2GHz
  • 32GB 1867MHz DDR3L (4x8GB) - work is paying for the ram
  • 1TB Flash Storage
  • AMD Radeon R9 M395X w/4GB
Open box. Turn it on. My poor Imac just constantly chimes and restarts to a black screen (no logo).

Called support. Reset NVRAM. Reset the SMC. Nothing same constant restarting.

It needs to go back.

:(
I'm so sorry to hear that. I ordered the same machine except for the amount of ram. I've never had that problem with any computer in the past (and lately they have all been Macs).
 

Cody1992

macrumors member
Jun 5, 2015
43
13
This is bound to happen with any product ever released, it's just probability and statistics. Sorry that you got a lemon but Apple will happily replace it. Unfortunately the wait will probably be a little longer since its a new product.
 

sandylp

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2004
259
11
San Francisco Bay Area
My first Imac (WooHoo) and it actually arrived by the delivery window.

  • 4.0GHz QC i7, TB up to 4.2GHz
  • 32GB 1867MHz DDR3L (4x8GB) - work is paying for the ram
  • 1TB Flash Storage
  • AMD Radeon R9 M395X w/4GB
Open box. Turn it on. My poor Imac just constantly chimes and restarts to a black screen (no logo).

Called support. Reset NVRAM. Reset the SMC. Nothing same constant restarting.

It needs to go back.

:(
I have the exact components in my iMac. Thankfully, mine arrived in working order, but I'm keeping the box just in case I have to send it back for any reason. I have had several Mac Pros and Macbook Pros in the past years and have always bought Applecare, but have never had to use it. I guess I've just been lucky, but I appreciate your post because it just goes to show that anything can happen. Hopefully, Apple will send another machine out to you with expedited shipping. Please let us know if they do.
 

roadkill401

macrumors 6502
Jan 11, 2015
403
77
This is bound to happen with any product ever released, it's just probability and statistics. Sorry that you got a lemon but Apple will happily replace it. Unfortunately the wait will probably be a little longer since its a new product.
I had a DOA iMac that I got in January. It took quite a bit longer to get the replacement as first you ship it back, then they take 2-3 weeks to inspect the computer to make sure it is all there.. (I think they might just check once a month all the returned inventory, so depending on when you ship it might be faster or longer). then they got around to making and shipping my unit. It ended up taking 7 weeks to get the replacement, and that was because I found a refurb that was in stock that sped it up by 1 week.
 

G.McGilli

macrumors regular
Oct 19, 2015
230
123
I'm curious - are you not allowed to return defective Mac to a local Apple Store (if you are luck to have one close by) - to at least speed up the process? Like they check it - report it to Apple ASAP and then they send a new one?
 

iamMacPerson

macrumors 68030
Jun 12, 2011
2,743
863
AZ/10.0.1.1
I'm curious - are you not allowed to return defective Mac to a local Apple Store (if you are luck to have one close by) - to at least speed up the process? Like they check it - report it to Apple ASAP and then they send a new one?
You should be able to return anything to the Apple Store within the 14 day window, even if it is a CTO. I'm not 100% sure, but this is how it has been in the past.

OP, maybe try calling your local store to see if you can just return it there and get your money back? If not, I'd call Apple Customer Relations and see what they can do. The might be able to replace the computer much quicker due to the circumstances.
 

Travisimo

macrumors 6502a
Dec 22, 2009
985
223
You should be able to return anything to the Apple Store within the 14 day window, even if it is a CTO. I'm not 100% sure, but this is how it has been in the past.

OP, maybe try calling your local store to see if you can just return it there and get your money back? If not, I'd call Apple Customer Relations and see what they can do. The might be able to replace the computer much quicker due to the circumstances.
Yes, that is what I would recommend as well. Waiting a long period of time for a replacement is not acceptable, and I'm sure Apple would be able to make it right with you if you contact someone higher up than Tier 1 support.
 
  • Like
Reactions: iamMacPerson

iamMacPerson

macrumors 68030
Jun 12, 2011
2,743
863
AZ/10.0.1.1
Yes, that is what I would recommend as well. Waiting a long period of time for a replacement is not acceptable, and I'm sure Apple would be able to make it right with you if you contact someone higher up than Tier 1 support.
Yeah 7 weeks is ridiculous. When my rMBP's dGPU would continually die after 4+ logic boards (long story, I had 3 machines like this), the Apple Store was always able to do a retail swap on the spot. Only difference is those machines were pre-built configurations and not CTO/BTO.
 

ucfgrad93

macrumors P6
Aug 17, 2007
17,525
8,141
Colorado
This is bound to happen with any product ever released, it's just probability and statistics. Sorry that you got a lemon but Apple will happily replace it. Unfortunately the wait will probably be a little longer since its a new product.
Agreed. This sort of thing happens. Apple will make it right.
 

fa8362

macrumors 65816
Jul 7, 2008
1,340
54
I have had several Mac Pros and Macbook Pros in the past years and have always bought Applecare, but have never had to use it. I guess I've just been lucky
Not really. The majority of people who buy Applecare never use it. If they did, Apple would discontinue it because they would lose money on it.
 

siddhartha

macrumors regular
Aug 8, 2008
106
25
Northern Virgina
Thinking about this - sounds like maybe a RAM chip popped loose - have you reseated the RAM in the computer? That's easy enough to check... Could be something that simple...
I agree-check the RAM.

The RAM slots on the riMac are less secure than any other iMac I've owned, and I was having intermittent reboot problems for MONTHS related to RAM chips not being seated firmly enough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cape Dave

techedude

macrumors regular
Sep 14, 2014
180
21
Definitely sounds like bad or loose ram. Pop that back door off and make sure they are seated properly. Try switching the order of the ram to a different slot. I'm a Certified Apple Tech and ram will and does cause this issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cape Dave

zippymedia

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 20, 2014
4
0
Thinking about this - sounds like maybe a RAM chip popped loose - have you reseated the RAM in the computer? That's easy enough to check... Could be something that simple...
Unfortunately that did not work. I simultaneously processed a return and ordered a new one. I'm out double until the return is processed but I need the imac for work.
 

toofargone

macrumors newbie
May 15, 2015
15
3
My first Imac (WooHoo) and it actually arrived by the delivery window.

  • 4.0GHz QC i7, TB up to 4.2GHz
  • 32GB 1867MHz DDR3L (4x8GB) - work is paying for the ram
  • 1TB Flash Storage
  • AMD Radeon R9 M395X w/4GB
Open box. Turn it on. My poor Imac just constantly chimes and restarts to a black screen (no logo).

Called support. Reset NVRAM. Reset the SMC. Nothing same constant restarting.

It needs to go back.

:(

Damn. Just unboxed i7/16gb/512ssd/395x.....same thing....chimes and chimes and doesn't boot.
 

ileff

macrumors newbie
Jun 21, 2012
21
1
me too i7/8gb/512ssd/395 chimes, no video, fans ramp up very quickly. will try ram.
 

ileff

macrumors newbie
Jun 21, 2012
21
1
couldn't open the ram door. i was pressing very firmly on the eject button but the door barely moved a smidge. making a genius appt.
 

ileff

macrumors newbie
Jun 21, 2012
21
1
the apple store was very helpful. returning the doa imac was no questions asked just took a few minutes.

i ended up taking home the highest stock config 395, 3.3ghz, 2tb fusion because apple pay with discover in store is 10% back. the lower config and discover promotion will save me $637.