New imac + Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'iMac' started by redshift1, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. redshift1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #1
    I'm getting a new imac and planning on the following connections.

    Run the Cox Communication line into the Cox Modem then connect the Modem to Airport Extreme and then to the imac. I'm replacing a Link-sys Router with the Airport Extreme.

    Will I need to change settings on my Ps3? and will setting up the Airport Extreme walk me through securing my home network?.
     
  2. R.Perez macrumors 6502

    R.Perez

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
    Well if your connecting the PS3 wirelessly the name of your network will probably change with the new router as well as the security passcode.

    So yeah more than likely youll have to change the settings on the ps3
     
  3. redshift1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #3
    So I actually need the Airport Extreme in addition to the imac ? I thought the new imac's come with some type of built in wireless router.
     
  4. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #4
    No, the iMacs come with a built in WiFi client (like those USB or PCI addon cards on PCs, except it is built in and comes standard). You still need a router. The iMac should be able to work with the Linksys router in place already.
     
  5. redshift1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #5
    Thanks, I read on the Apple Support page that the specific router WRT54G can cause kernal panic see below:

    "After further discussions with apple repair they stated the the Kernel Panics were caused by the Wireless G network, and was advised to get myself a wireless N router I got myself a wirelees N router (apple airport extreme), and no more Kernel Panics were seen"

    My router is 5 or 6 years old.
     
  6. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #6
    I really recommend the Apple Airport Extreme. It is a very nice router. The simultaneous dual band means that all of my devices get the fastest connection possible, with the 2.4GHz G going to my iPhone and old PCs, and the super fast 5GHz N going to the all the Macs (which come with high end WiFi cards).

    With that said, none of my Macs ever kernel panicked when I was using my modded WRT54GL. So I don't expect you will have any problems if you just want to use your old Linksys.
     
  7. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #7
    I don't know, I've been using a WRT54G for years with three different Macs with no kernel panics. YMMV, of course.

    Still, running on N should give you a noticeable performance boost. If the Airport Extreme is within your budget, it's probably worth getting.
     
  8. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #8
    Same here...I've got a WRT54GS, though. 4 Macs and I've yet to have an issue.
     
  9. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #9
    I'd set the Airport Extreme to use the WAP settings that your Linksys was using...its easier to set it up that way than to reconfigure the PS3, IMO, and that's definitely if you've a ton of wireless devices around the house.
     
  10. redshift1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #10
    Thanks, is that an installation option when setting up the Airport Extreme.
     
  11. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #11
    Not really. Just set it up with the same security type and passcode. That should avoid any problems.
     
  12. Jasper1968 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #12
    iMac as a router

    The iMac can infact be used as a router and there is no need to buy Airport Extreme. Airport Express is useful if you want to share music (Airtunes). I have a home network using the built-in iMac router (PC, Macbook, ipod touch and iphone).

    The inbuilt wireless router can be switched on in about 30 seconds flat.
    :)
     

Share This Page