new imac alu ram question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MacHappytjg, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    would a 256mb stick of ram work in a iMac al its the right kind i jus wanna know if it will read it
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #3
    a stieck is just laying around not doing anything
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    because he can lol.

    wouldn't it slow them down because they are not paired?
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    If you have a 1 GB SODIMM in, and an empty socket, then you don't have Dual Channel access anyway. So adding a 256 to it wouldn't cause any additional slowdown - it would still be in Single channel mode, just with 1.25 GB.

    Just make sure the 256 is a 667 MHz for the SantaRosa AlumiMac, or an 800 MHz for the new April 08 AlumiMac.

    If you put a 667 MHz 256 into this week's new iMac, then it will slow the machine down by dragging the memory bus down to 667 MHz instead of 800.
     

Share This Page