New Imac and old cinema display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bodtwo, May 24, 2011.

  1. bodtwo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #1
    OK,

    looking at purchasing an Imac as soon as the ipod promo hits the UK, going for an entry level 27". This will be the first apple computer in the house.

    Question is, i have an old 20" cinema display that i use on a windows machine (the aluminium frame version) will that connect to the new imac and will it be able to drive it?

    Thanks all.
     
  2. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    It will work fine. You just need the MDP>DVI adapter from Apple.
     
  3. bodtwo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #3
    Fantastic,

    Double screen fun, that's sealed it then.

    Thank you for the prompt repsonse.
     
  4. dreamworks21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #4
    Not that this helps, but I hope you love your 27 inch iMac! My grandfather got one, and he's been on it nonstop for almost a month O_____O
     
  5. Georgio macrumors 6502

    Georgio

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #5
    That's exactly the same configuration that I'm going to be running once I get my hands on a suitable convertor for the cinema display connection.
     

Share This Page