new imac/apple convert...games? virus protection?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by compton scatter, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. compton scatter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #1
    Im a new Apple/iMac convert.
    Got tired of windows crashing and the viruses.

    -can I play windows games on my new imac? (a company of heroes)
    -I dont fully understand how the anti virus works...i feel like i need to download something?

    tx

    joshuah
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    No need to load Antivirus in my opinion
    Just pay attention, and don't use your admin password without knowing what you are doing

    You can play games if they have Mac version
    If not, you can run Windows in Boot Camp or use Crossover

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #3
    If you have all your old Windows games, it might be worth getting Boot Camp up and running. Boot Camp is a way of running Windows on your Mac.
    Unfortunately, this Windows will be susceptible to Viruses/Spyware and the like. Natively, the Mac OS is not capable of running your Windows games.

    There is no need for Virus protection on the Mac. There is nothing to download/install.
    Allow me to welcome you to the Mac Forums. I hope you the forums enjoyable.
    Also, Congratulations on switching to the Mac! I'm certain you'll love it.
     
  4. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #4
    As others have said, you should set up Boot Camp with Windows for playing games.

    However, this means you will still need to run virus scanners on the Windows partition.

    The Mac OS does not normally require virus protection. It is not susceptible to viruses unless you are actively seeking them or downloading cracked copies of programs off of the Internet.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    And with those being trojans, there are no viruses for OS X at all! :)
     
  6. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #6
    Ya, some new games have a Mac version on the disk as well, but like others have said get bootcamp going.

    as for virus:dont worry. your fine the way you are.;)
    ....for now.:rolleyes:
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Marketshare has nothing to do with it.
     
  8. compton scatter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #8
    tx for the replies and happy 4th everyone!

    so will i actually need a current version of windows to run with/on "Boot Camp"or just "Boot Camp" to act as a bridge between my mac and the game??


    j
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    It's not in quotations; it's actual software. You need Windows itself. Download the Windows 7 RC and then buy a copy of something when that expires in March.
     
  10. compton scatter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #10
    noice!

    tx



    j
     
  11. compton scatter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #11
    so i downloaded boot camp and installed it.
    i downloaded windows 7rc and am unsure as to what to do next.
    ive tried to open it using boot camp but no-go.

    help.

    j
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Burn it to a disk using Disk Utility.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #13
    Good to see that image is still being put to good use. :D
     
  14. compton scatter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #14
    cant i just mount it from disk utility and boot from there?


    i have no printer at the moment...
     
  15. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #15
    no.:rolleyes:
     
  16. Edensuko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #16
    Just burn it, its like one buck and 20 minutes for a full OS, the manual, you can look for tips online, there is even youtube videos about bootcamp.
     
  17. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #17
    Boot Camp won't run from an ISO, you need to burn the disc to install.
     
  18. DataCabbitKSW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #18
    There are trojans and Viruses out there for Mac. Most of them are remote control programs disguised as something else. Just be smart with what you open and that should keep you fine. For games, not so many are for mac, but some important ones are. All Blizzard Entertainment (StarCraft, World of Warcraft, etc) have Mac and PC versions. Often big socially appealing games like the Sims, Civilization, or whatnot will get Mac versions later on. So you might check there.
    However, when it comes down to it, you will want to BootCamp your system and reboot into a Windows environment. I would suggest using the Windows 7 Release Candidate for now, and you can buy the full thing when it comes out if you like it. It is free to get over at TechNet here: http://tinyurl.com/832nco
    Just be sure you to first get the latest version of BootCamp, and then get the x64 version of Windows 7 and install that way. Burn the .ISO to a DVD-R using the Disk Image utility in Mac OS X, and then use BootCamp tools to help install it. Very easy. It will walk you through the process. If it asks you what OS you are installing, tell it Vista x64, and the drivers will be a close enough match to work just fine.
     
  19. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #19
    I was actually going through some of my old games and found that some of them say they work for Mac. I'm going to have to try them out :D
     
  20. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #20
    There are trojans but not viruses. Trojans require you to run an application and usually also enter an Administrator password. Viruses just connect to your machine and infect without any user intervention.

    If an older game says it works on a Mac, they may be talking about OS 9. Since Intel Macs don't have a classic mode to run OS 9 software you need to run an emulator like SheepShaver. I found my old Intellivision Lives CD last night and that's exactly what I used to try it on my Mac.
     

Share This Page