New iMac - Basic questions: iPhoto, iWeb, and Scanner

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TexasDad, Dec 14, 2011.

1. TexasDad macrumors newbie

I'm new to Mac and am trying to get everything figured out. Three Questions that are probably very obvious after you know.

1. iPhoto has sorted all of my pics form the old computer very nicely. But I just uploaded pictures from the camera. On import I put them into Albums on the right side of the iPhoto screen. In iPhoto they are easy to find. But were are they on the HD so I can upload them to shutter fly? I can't find them with the finder.

2. I've read about iWeb- but never used it. When buying my iMac I was planning to use it to update my website. I used to have somebody update it for me, but it has not seen an update in a few years. Is iWeb gone? Any suggestions for an inexpensive program to update a simple website? Nothing fancy.

3. Last question for now. My printer/scanner installed without any issues. But the only way I've found to start a scan is to go into the system preferences and then select the printer settings and from their I can find my scanner? There has to be an easier way to start a scan?

Thanks for the help!

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

1. The photo files are stored in a library file. Don't try to access them directly, as you will corrupt the library. You can access your photos from a Finder dialog box by scrolling down on the left side, you will see a Photos section.

3. Image Capture is an app on your computer. Use it to scan.

3. DockMac macrumors regular

1. iPhoto doesn't really want you interacting directly with the file system to get your photos. Here are three ways to try, I recommend trying in this order:

Plugin
    There may be a shutterfly plugin that helps you upload directly from iPhoto (I know some online photo sites provide it, some don't.) I know Flickr is built in to iPhoto. You can add Picasa for sure.

Export