New iMac Bootcamp Problems

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Kong1971, Jun 14, 2017.

  1. Kong1971 macrumors newbie

    Kong1971

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Location:
    Metropolis, IL
    #1
    Well, I got my new 2017 4K iMac from the UPS man today. Setup was a breeze. I just transferred over my time machine backup from my old iMac. No problems with Photoshop or anything else migrating over. Just had to reenter a few serial numbers.

    I purchased the i7 version with 1TB fusion drive and Radeon Pro 560 GPU. Excited to try a few games from my Steam library, I attempted to install Windows 10 via bootcamp... and started having a problem. Seems the Anniversary Edition of Windows 10 does not play well with Bootcamp right now. I am currently trying to install an older build of Windows 10. Fingers crossed it will work.

    I am pleased so far with the new iMac. The screen is noticeably sharper and brighter, with more intense colors. It is only a subtle difference, but it is noticeable if you look closely. The i7 processor is snappier than the i5 I've been working on, and the Fusion drive is wonderful, considering I had been working with the 5400 RPM HDD that came with my old stock iMac. I wish I could have afford an SSD but my budget would only allow a Fusion Drive. But I am pleased with the speed on the Fusion Drive. Everything loads up really fast. Hopefully I'll be able to get Windows up and running soon so I can report on game performance to you guys.

    It's not a problem with Bootcamp. From my research, there is a bug in the Anniversary Edition of Windows that is giving Mac owners issues. Effin' Windows...
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2017 ---
    Nope. Older build won't install either. It keeps saying it cannot see the partition to install Windows in. Does anyone have any idea what I can do to get windows installed. I really wanted to play some games.
     
  2. Kong1971 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Kong1971

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Location:
    Metropolis, IL
    #2
    Think I've got it. I installed Creator's Update and disconnected all external drives and the install is almost finished.
     
  3. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #3
    I thought fusion drives do not work well with bootcamp.
     
  4. hifoo45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #4
    No, they do, they just can't work with the SSD portion, so the OS and any apps will only be designated to the slower spinning drive portion.
     
  5. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #5

    Good point. I was thinking though he was attempting to install on the SSD portion which is something I know I looked into doing before(no luck obviously)
     
  6. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #6
    If you use windows a lot just buy a 128gb ssd and install windows on it.
     
  7. Kong1971 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Kong1971

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Location:
    Metropolis, IL
    #7
    Well, I'm a little disappointed. I got Windows installed. Installed Steam. Downloaded and installed Street Fighter V and I could only get it to run properly at 1600X900 resolution at high settings at 60 FPS. 1080p would only run about 54 FPS on medium settings. It looks good, really, and I can live with it, but I was really hoping for a bit better performance from the Radeon Pro 560. I was only expecting to get 1080p so it is a bit disappointing to have to drop that a tad.
     
  8. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #8
    It could be a combination of slow hdd + not optimized graphic driver.
     
  9. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #9
    Not sure if this'll work on your GPU but it's worth applying the latest driver through the AMD Autodetect tool: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/auto-detect-tool

    If it finds a newer driver and you install it, you're likely to increase graphics performance. Again it's not a definite if it'll find a driver but it's worth a try. As @gian8989 rightly mentioned, performance may also be impacted due to the HDD bottleneck. :)
     
  10. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    I don't think you can update the AMD drivers within Windows. Apple Update might have newer drivers, however. You can also use MXDrivers.com or BootCampDrivers.com for third-party modified drivers.
     
  11. mhd2100 macrumors member

    mhd2100

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #11
    I am going to need the official Apple drivers before I can begin to implement the newest 500 series cards. Can anyone with a new 2017 iMac upload their WindowsSupport.dmg package or maybe just the AMD drivers within in particular to googledrive or dropbox for me to download and implement the newest iMacs into my driver packages at bootcampdrivers.com? Thanks!
     
  12. francois_paris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    #12
    I have a 27" iMac, with the AMD Radeon pro 580 8go vram. I downloaded the windows support files from bootcamp utility. Here is the download link for you (wetransfer): https://we.tl/tB5CUcPuHT
     
  13. Glideslope macrumors 601

    Glideslope

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    A quiet place somewhere in NYS.
    #13
    Agree. If you must Windows Game on a Mac it's best to have an external Boot SSD. Especially with a USB 3.1 or TB3 connector these days. :apple:
     
  14. mhd2100 macrumors member

    mhd2100

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
  15. mhd2100 macrumors member

    mhd2100

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    #15
    ok so early releases of updated drivers for the new iMac 2017 and MBP 2017 are now available. Would appreciate feedback on them so I can improve stability etc. in future versions.
     
  16. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #16
    Are you saying that you can use bootcamp to install windows to an external drive on the new iMacs?
     
  17. francois_paris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    #17
    I have a 2017 iMac and using an external SSD samsung t3 for bootcamp and my games. It's working flawlessly. Very happy with this solution. This way I save a lot of disk space on my internal 512gb ssd.
     
  18. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #18

    I thought there was an issue with using bootcamp on an external drive. Does anyone have a link or guide on doing this? I could have swore I did a ton of research on doing this a couple years ago.
     
  19. francois_paris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    #19
    This method is the one that worked for me. I don't have any issue
     
  20. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #20

    Very nice. This was a pretty huge issue for a lot of people for a while.
     
  21. bepto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    #21
    Was hoping to do this but don't have a windows machine, any way round that?
     
  22. eonaeon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Down Under
    #22
  23. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #23
    The worst thing of the new iMac is that bootcamp doesn't support windows 7.
     

Share This Page