New iMac, did I do the right thing...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Too Many Toys, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. Too Many Toys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #1
    Ok, time to upgrade the home iMac. Going from a Intel 20" white to a current 24" Aluminum iMac.

    Here's how I ordered it (BTO)...

    Started with the 2.4GHz/24" model and upgraded it to 2.8GHz processor & 500GB HD. Then I ordered OWC 4GB memory for $99.00.

    My thinking here is I'm not paying for the extra 1GB of memory included in the 24"/2.8GHz model. If I did the math right I'm saving $150.00 AND getting 4GB of RAM, instead of the 2GB that the stock 2.8GHz model comes with. Same processor, same video, same hard drive. Or you could look at it as a $850.00 savings compared to ordering it fully configured w/ Apple's $700.00 4GB upgrade. :eek:

    Make sense? Anyone else use this strategy?
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I think a lot of people did, so I think that your logic is correct.
     
  3. Too Many Toys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #3
    Damn, thought I was ahead of the curve for once ;)
     
  4. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Sounds good. Enjoy your new setup.

    You can't really compare your savings from OWC vs. buying from Apple. Apple's RAM prices are so overinflated...
     
  5. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Why did you upgrade from white Intel to aluminum Intel? What did you need the extra power for?
     
  6. OregonTrail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    Mount Prospect, IL
    #6
    Way ahead of me - I bought the standard apple config 24" 2 gb ram
    I dont have as much patience as you though
     
  7. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

    DesignerOnMac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #7
    Why BTO?

    You could have gotten the stock 2.8 iMac, bought the RAM from OWC, mailed the stock RAM from the iMac to OWC for a rebate! No BTO and you could have had the imac sooner!
     
  8. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #8
    Rebate is only $20 and you'll void your Applecare warranty, as Applecare requires at least 1 stock RAM. Not worth it.
     
  9. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
  10. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #10
    So I should keep my memory that came with my iMac in case I have a problem? Then take out the OWC memory and put the original Apple memory back in?
     
  11. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #11
    Yes, although you can just swap one of the two sticks with the original Apple memory. You don't need to take both out entirely.
     
  12. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #12
    Where in the world did you hear that nonsense? RAM on any Apple computer (except the Mini) is a user-replaceable part and does not void the warranty.

    jW
     
  13. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #13
    No, it won't actually void the warranty, so I retract my statement. However, it's been mentioned many times on this forum that you should keep at least one original RAM for Applecare to be valid. Otherwise, you're screwed if Apple decides the upgraded RAMs are the problem and take you to the cleaner's by making you buy replacement RAMs from them.
     
  14. Too Many Toys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #14
    No real need for the power, just because I guess. And I have another spot for the current iMac.
     
  15. Too Many Toys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #15
    I didn't know it voided the warranty but I have read here & on other forums that non-oem memory is the 1st thing Apple blames if there is an issue. As I did on my 17" MBP, I want to keep the stock RAM in case I need to return it for service.
     
  16. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #16
    Wow, some people just have TOO much money :p
     

Share This Page