Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anik

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 13, 2005
This is probably redundant, and I hope I don't bore you, but after less than 12 hours with the new computer, I feel as though my experience is profound enough to need to share it.

I bought one of the first PowerPC Macs back when I was a student, after an agonizing period of speculation, prudent saving, and buyer's angst. I used that computer for a longer duration than any other I've had, and even years after I had moved on (work requirements, etc.) to other platforms, I fondly reminisced that whatever computer I was using at the time still couldn't do some of the things that old PowerMac could do.

Since school, I have worked in some computationally-intensive positions, both on the artistic side of things, and on the math/physics end (mostly complex systems simulation). I have gained experience in a wide variety of platforms, applications, and bits of hardware. Eventually, when the various annoyances of my work life had grown great enough, I decided that my next home machine would be a Mac.

I researched fairly heavily on this purchase, since a medical condition had since disrupted my career and put a fairly serious strain on my young family's finances. While my treatment has been successful (yay!) I hardly felt reckless with what little money we had left after the fact. I ordered a new 20" iMac as soon as I was certain we could afford it, and when the rumors came bouncing around about the iMac potentially going Intel in January of next year, I felt that I had made a terrible mistake, spending my money on a machine that would soon 'feel' outdated and underpowered compared to what I knew was available.