new iMac for Graphic Design work station

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rickpoet, Oct 29, 2009.

1. rickpoet macrumors member

Hi,

I'm a graphic designer (lots of Creative Suite work, large graphic files) using a Power Mac G5 (last released model). I've been waiting for the next Mac Pro revision to upgrade, but the new iMac (27" i7) seems pretty tempting. I'm wondering about the following:

Second hard drive...am I better off with a Mac pro and a second internal hard drive (in terms of speed) versus a top of the line external connected to the iMac (and what would the best one be?)

Does anyone else use a glossy screen for print graphic design? Any complaints?

Does anyone else use a recent model iMac as a graphic design work station?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Rick

2. c.s. macrumors regular

c.s.

I'm a designer & agonized over going with the new iMac, played with it at the store for a while. Current setup is MBP with the 24" ACD. The glass screen is great, as long as you don't have a light/window behind you. It's so bright you can't even tell it's glass - much sharper than the 23" aluminum matte ACD.

But here's my problem with the 27" iMac - the density is something like 115 dpi, making all the text & menus (especially in InDesign/Photoshop) much smaller. The 24" ACD is 96 dpi. I find my eyes are MUCH more strained from trying to use a higher density, than anything related to the gloss/matte debate. Sure, you get more pixels, but doesn't matter if it gives you a headache by the end of the day. The 27 is beautiful, but I don't think I could handle the native resolution for day-to-day work.

3. ewytt macrumors newbie

4. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

DesignerOnMac

1. Primarily a print media graphic designer here. I have the alum 2.8 Extreme iMac, 24", w 4 gigs of RAM.
    2. Run all of the Adobe Creative Suite Pro CS4 programs with no issues.