New iMac got 3 partitions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by byron321, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. byron321 macrumors newbie

    byron321

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
  2. rottnjohn macrumors newbie

    rottnjohn

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Location:
    silly valley
    #2
    That is odd. What does it DiskUtility look like? Is it new or used? If you only have 1 disk and it has three partitions, you should consider reloading from scratch.
     
  3. byron321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    byron321

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
  4. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    i can only have a wild guess and you got one of the rare iMac's that got checked by quality control in the apple factory in china , and they just forgot to reinstll the OS again and wipe the disc
     
  5. byron321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    byron321

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I think that's a good guess. I took a look in the MaxDisk partition and I found a tool called Indy that seems like a diagnostics tool for apple's internal use. There was a ReadMe file in the Indy folder that contains very detailed steps about testing the computer. From the filename of the video (cli_test.mp4) I found, I believe that video is used for testing.
     
  6. hhaydenn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Upload the video to YouTube then link us!
     
  7. byron321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    byron321

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
  8. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #8
    Image the partitions to an external HDD, then resize the main OS X partition to be the entire HDD.
     
  9. IndustrialSpace macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #9
    It sounds like the OP was sent a refurbished computer. Apple has had so many returns, they cant just sell them at a loss or destroy them. Rather it seems, they sell them to unsupecting new buyers.

    I would return this computer ASAP and order another one.

    I just wouldnt be comfortable with a new computer that has existing data on it. Too fishy to me.
     
  10. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #10
    You are speculating. I think the partitions are from quality-control testing (hence the test-related filenames), and the chinese workers just forgot to remove the partitions. But then again, I am speculating :eek:.
     
  11. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #11
    That is RARE :D

    Hope I just can find new iMac with Lion, Windows7 and Ubuntu factory preinstalled .. and with so many games installed on Windows side, right from Apple Store :D

    You may ask phone support about it, if I were you, I'd just reformat the HDD and install OSX as it should've
     
  12. lavino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #12
    Reminded me of that *NEW* HDD I got from a local computer store.... I saw inventory and client / sales details in it. I took it back and watched their faces when I told them I formatted it... XD
     
  13. byron321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    byron321

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    I called the apple support again a few hours ago and they told me that those partitions are from QC and they somehow forgot to remove them (weird). They helped me to format the HD and reinstalled the OS.
     

Share This Page