New imac late 2015 - is this a fault?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MsDawe, Mar 15, 2016.

  1. MsDawe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #1
    I finally took the plunge and bought a late 2015 27" imac retina:
    i7
    512GB SSD
    8GB
    4GB AMD 395X

    Arrived last week. Haven't had much time to set it up but I initially changed the displayed settings to 'large type'. All fine until I decided to go back to retina settings. Now when I log on and press enter for the briefest of moments the wallpaper takes up a sixth of the screen and is surrounded a thick black border before reverting to the right size. Go back to large type and everything transitions smoothly.

    Apple Support have done a few bits with me - the wallpaper now takes up a third of the screen before sorting itself out - and their latest advice means I'm currently reinstalling El Capitan. Failing that they suggest lugging it to my nearest store 25 miles away to get them to look at it.

    Does anyone else have this issue or am I being picky? Having spent a lot of money I considering returning it and getting a replacement as I'm concerned it's graphics card related.

    Advice appreciated, thank you.
     
  2. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Sounds unquestionably like a software issue. You changed something, changed it back, something is screwy.
     
  3. MsDawe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #3
    Reinstall of El Capitan complete and it still does it.
     
  4. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Are you fresh installing or just installing over?
     
  5. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #5
    Format the drive and then reinstall it. I doubt you have anything important on there, but if you do, back it up and restore it later.

    Seems like a typical configuration glitch, but I don't have the solution to that unfortunately.
     
  6. MsDawe, Mar 16, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2016

    MsDawe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #6

    It was being reinstalled over the original. Spoke to a different person at Apple support afterwards who tried to see if it was a profile problem which it wasn't. He then spoke to his manager who apparently has that display who demonstrated to him that the error is in fact normal and that is what happens when you log in and your display is set to retina. The system has to briefly reconfigurate the display after log on.

    Going to head to my local Apple store at the weekend to get them to try it on one of their machines as part of me is not convinced. It just seems a bit clunky but that may just be me.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    FWIW, it doesn't seem like a hardware issue to me.

    Did you try creating a new user account and see of that phenomenon exists?
     
  8. MsDawe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #8
    Yes, created a new admin account and issue still occurred.
     
  9. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Do a proper format/reinstall. Anything else is just wasting your time. Also, perhaps post a video of what you're seeing?
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    As noted, try a clean install and see if that corrects the issue.
     

Share This Page