New iMac owner - Question for the experts!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ewolson, Sep 22, 2011.

1. ewolson macrumors newbie

I'm a total newbie mac owner. I own an ipad and just ventured into the desktop when I received my new 27" base iMac with SSD yesterday... it's my first venture into the world of OSX from Windows and I have to say I am on a steep learning curve. I have the wireless keyboard, magic mouse and magic trackpad and yesterday after set up, I was browsing some websites and then responding to some emails in Gmail. While I was typing in Gmail or using excel, the screen kept shifting between my work that I was doing and the launcher. I couldn't get it to stop. For instance, in one email I was typing a pressed the number 4 and it flipped my screen to the launcher and didn't record the 4 in the email. I pressed the 4 again and it flipped back to gmail. I have no idea if I accidentally messed up a setting, but needless to say your help in getting this corrected would be great appreciated. I can't type with the launcher continuing to interrupt my typing.

Thanks for your help!

2. joerf3 macrumors newbie

Hello and welcome.

Can you please give a little more detail as to the problem you're having? When you say a "Launcher" is appearing, what exactly are you seeing?

What it sounds like to me is you may be hitting the "F4" key instead of the "4" key. On Macs, the functions keys actually activate other features and are not the normal function keys you may be used to on a Windows machine.

In this instance, if your are hitting the F4 key (which is located directly above the 4 key), you will launch the Dashboard feature. Pressing F4 again will make Dashboard disappear.

3. ewolson thread starter macrumors newbie