New iMac Purchase Questions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AirBeagle, Oct 21, 2013.

1. AirBeagle macrumors newbie

AirBeagle

Hi Folks,
    I'm relatively new to the Mac world, and am looking to purchase an iMac in the next week or so. To give some background, I've been a Windows user my whole life, until I picked up a 17" MacBook Pro in 2012. Now I don't think I'll ever go back. To get to my questions...

I'll be replacing my Windows desktop with a 27" iMac, which will be used for the standard e-mail, browsing, etc., as well as some pretty heavy Adobe InDesign work (files big enough that it REALLY slows down the 17" MacBook Pro even with 16 GB Ram), as well as video processing with Adobe Premiere and Camtasia Mac, sound processing with Adobe Audition, and a bunch of other stuff like that.

Plan is to start with 16GB of RAM, which will allow me to purchase 16GB more from OWC and install myself (I'm a bit scared of all the Crucial memory-not-fitting stories). Debating whether to go the i5 or i7 route (not sure how much hyperthreading will help me with video processing), and am pretty determined on the 780 card with 4GB ram for video.

Where I have the most questions has to do with accessories. I'd planned on the wired keyboard, but am not sure whether I want a trackpad or mouse. I'm not a huge fan of the trackpad on my MBP, so typically I use a magic mouse with it. If I get a magic mouse for my desktop, will the two magic mice interfere with each other when I'm syncing the computers? Is that too much magic for a confined space?

I'd also like to get a DVD drive with the system, but I've seen quite a few posts here stating that buying the external SuperDrive from Apple is a bit expensive for a not-so-wonderful drive. Can anyone provide recommendations of what a better choice would be?