New iMac RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by b0redom, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. b0redom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    #1
    Hi All,
    I've got a 2010 (current gen) iMac, which I've loaded up with 16GB of RAM. I'm thinking of upgrading when the next gen ones come out. I quite fancy a GPU speed bump, and hopefully they will have a NIC which supports jumbo frames this time!

    Is it likely that the RAM I bought for this version (from Crucial) will work in the next rev? I don't know if SandyBridge needs faster RAM?
     
  2. Eudall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    The RAM you have will most likely be suitable for the new iMac, we'll have to wait and see to be certain.

    The refresh may support faster DDR (unlikely IMHO), but the stuff you have will be just fine :)
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Sandy Bridge CPUs support 1066MHz and 1333MHz DDR3.
     
  4. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Also 1600MHz DDR3 RAM.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Works but is not officially supported by Intel.

    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=52213

    The point I was making is that if OP buys RAM now, it will be supported in next gen iMac as well (unless Apple limits the RAM speeds in the firmware, although I have never seen them doing it this way).
     

Share This Page