New iMac RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bonafide, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. bonafide macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #1
    Where can I buy RAM for my new iMac for self-install. I'm going to be purchasing the new 24" iMac with the 1g stock but I want it to at least 2g or 4g if the price is right.

    I need an online retailer that is trusted by the mac community for: price, service, relability and overall customer satisfaction.

    Thanks!
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    You'll see lots of recommendations here for OWC and DMS.
     
  3. bonafide thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
  4. NewtypeCJ macrumors 6502

    NewtypeCJ

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #5
    Is buying one additional stick through a third party a good idea? I thought there was that thing about RAM where you should stick with matching pairs if possible. Yes/no? I just picked up a 20".
     
  5. bonafide thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #6
  6. kalii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    #7
    Crucial.com or ramjet.com, just thinking off the top of my head.
     
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    As you've found, most good RAM sites have online wizards to help direct you to the proper RAM. (Though some may not have yet updated their sites with the new machines.) Anyway, these iMacs use the same RAM the previous generation did: 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM (PC2-5300) SO-DIMMs.

    Since you're going for the 2x2GB, you'll see two options to choose from at the bottom of the page you linked to: the OWC brand at $229 and the Techworks at $239. (You could also buy a pair of either the Micron or Samsung 2 GB sticks if you really wanted to spend the money...they would almost certainly function as a matched pair.) OWC branded RAM is great stuff. They stand behind it 100% and will ship you a new stick(s) the instant you notify them if yours is/goes bad.
     
  8. bonafide thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #9
    Right on...

    I just found this info from the iMac users guide located on Apple's website:

    And ordered...
    4.0GB (2GB+2GB Kit) PC2-5300 DDR2 667MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit

    Woot!
     
  9. klm40691 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #10
    Another question - wouldn't installing your own RAM void the applecare protection?
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    RAM is user installable so it doesn't void Applecare. If you break the machine while installing the RAM, well then that's another story :)

    Apple won't cover your 3rd party RAM of course, but the manufacturer of the RAM should be giving you a lifetime warranty anyway. Apple could charge you for warranty repairs if, in their estimation, the problem was "caused" by your RAM -- so it may be a good idea to hold onto your original chip, and put it back in if you have any problem needing repair (also, a way to check that the problem wasn't actually your RAM)

    The iMacs use the same RAM layout as the MacBook Pro Santa Rosa, 667 MHz DDR2 SODIMMS (Laptop size RAM)
     
  11. aranhil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #12
    Is it easy to self instal RAM? I haven't got my iMac yet. I won't even know where the slots are located. Where might I find some info about how to self install? I'm kinda afraid of doing something wrong and damaging the iMac.
     
  12. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  13. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #14
    how many ram slots does the new iMac have?

    I have two sticks of 512 ram from the previous 20" intel core 2 duo imac I can use for the new one if I can use it that is...
     
  14. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #15
    I do not understand, to my understanding DDR Memory was supposed to go in pairs? so how come the new iMac has 1 GB stick? does this mean that i can go and pick up another 1 GB? or can i pick up a 2 GB? Im a bit confused.
     
  15. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #16
    1 gig could be two 512ram
     
  16. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #17
    But in this case is not, the apple store says that it comes with 1 gb in one stick not the usual 1 gb 2x512MB:confused:
     
  17. bonafide thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #18
    Given the fact my RAM will likely beat my iMac in shipping time. Should I install my RAM after I've started up the iMac for the first time or do it before I power it on for the first time?

    I'm leaning towards after I power it on for the first time to make sure everything works.

    Also.. I'm not much of a techie but one of my buddies just told me that if I install 4g of RAM on my iMac that it will never use 4g of RAM - he said something about it only using 3.1? or something? Wtf?

    Anyone got a clue about that?
     
  18. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #19
    can u install the ram from a previous gen into this new imac?

    i have two extra 512 ddr ram

    was wondering if i can add 512 ddr to the 1 gig
     
  19. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #20
    No, DDR doesn't have to be in pairs. Ever. Having matching pairs enables it to run in dual-channel mode in some systems, but as it has been discussed many, many times on these forums and elsewhere...the benefits are minimal and not worth worrying about. Having more RAM, whatever the configuration, is more important than having it in dual-channel mode.

    Apple's done this for awhile in the MBPs, and now they're finally (thank goodness) doing it in the iMac. It costs them a couple bucks more per machine to use one 1GB stick instead of two 512MB sticks, but in the end it benefits us, the consumer, because we can go all the way up to 3GB without discarding the original memory. Which is what I plan to do, buy a 2GB stick for about $120.

    Power it on first, just to make sure it boots. Then shut it off and install the RAM. Your tech buddy is referencing the previous platform, which really would only utilize ~3GB. The new iMacs, along with the new MBPs, are all Santa Rosa and will use a full 4GB. Your buddy needs to get with the times.

    Yes, you can, the previous iMacs used the same DDR2-667 as the new ones. You can stick a 512 MB in the spare slot and have 1.5GB instantly.
     
  20. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
  21. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #22
    OWC 2x2GB - 4 total $229.95 - $234 shipped. Or 1x2GB for $115.99
     
  22. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #23
  23. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #24
    Yeah. Most computers (and all laptops, which the iMac basically is) only come with 2 memory slots, unless you're buying higher-end gaming systems or building your own with aftermarket motherboards.

    Yeah that will work but it's not a very good deal. Personally I'd go with this or this.
     
  24. stuff99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #25
    hmm...i want to deal with a local company than an online one though
     

Share This Page