New iMac, should I go for 16gb or 32gb?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pmidtvedt, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. pmidtvedt macrumors newbie

    pmidtvedt

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #1
    I'm thinking of buying the newly updated iMac, mainly for Graphic design (Photoshop, Illustrator) and some basic 3D animation (Cinema 4d and after effects). Is 16gb enough or should I og for 32gb ram?
     
  2. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #2


    Which model? If it's the 27" one, just get 16 and upgrade manually down the road if you find it too little
     
  3. pmidtvedt thread starter macrumors newbie

    pmidtvedt

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #3
    Yes, I'm thinking of buying the 27" one
     
  4. theluggage macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    Might want to wait for the early reports and double-check that its still user expandable: I think I see the edge of the access panel and the release catch in the Apple Store photos. If it isn't, then you'll soon see a great wailing and gnashing of teeth on MacRumors...

    If so, it may be better value to get 8GB from Apple and then add 16GB of third-party memory.
     
  5. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #5
    Pretty sure it's still user accessible. There wasn't really a form factor change on the "normal", and aside from new I/O, the base chasis is nearly identical
     
  6. statik13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #6
    Exactly this. Get the base 8 and then add 16. You'll end up with 24 gig for less money than apple sells the 16 gig upgrade for.
     
  7. csjcsj macrumors member

    csjcsj

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #7
    I ordered the 27" with 16gb. A lot depends on how many apps you're working on at any given time. I often have Photoshop, illustrator and indesign open at the same time and switch between them frequently. The 16gb I have on my current MPB has been enough.
     
  8. devilsnj30 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #8
    I mean the biggest thing is get the one with 8gb because you can upgrade to 16 if you want for 40 bucks, 32 for about 100 on aftermarket ram.
     
  9. lroe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    #9
    I purchased the mid-grade 27" iMac the other day, and I ordered the 16 Gb RAM. I spoke with the Honolulu store today who confirmed that the machine can be brought in to have the RAM upgraded as needed. Hope this helps.
     
  10. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #10
    Given that you do Photoshop (among other memory sensitive apps), in the end you would benefit with as much RAM as you can afford. How you get there could be from outright purchase with the computer or by upgrade later. The advantage of the latter is it might save several dollars (at least in the USA). Also, it would be wise to get a "soft calibration" tool to generate the proper profile for the iMac screen.
     
  11. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #11
    Its user upgradeable RAM so get the 8gb as standard and order a 16gb kit to go into the two spare slots for a total of 24gb. If you need more in the future a 32gb kit of 2x 16gb will give you 48gb replacing the 2x4gb that came with the computer. It gives you a clear RAM upgrade path over the next 5-6 years depending on need.
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    Why even pay Apple's stiff price to get 16gb?

    Buy the basic 8gb configuration, and add more yourself.

    Caution: I'd wait a few weeks before buying to see if any "RAM issues" arise, and how they "sort out".
     
  13. lroe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    #13
    I've been planning to do this when the new iMac arrives, and downloading specific color profiles for the printers I'll be using. And thanks for the reminder.
     
  14. MSastre macrumors regular

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #14
    Like others have said, buy the base minimum ram and upgrade to what you like with aftermarket ram. You will save money.I've done that with every Mac I have gotten over the years, using ram from http://www.crucial.com.
     
  15. lroe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    #15
    I'll do that next time. I don't consider myself tech savvy, but in reviewing the process, I've discovered that upgrading RAM appears pretty simple and straightforward. Next time I order an upgradeable iMac, or upgrade the new machine further, I'll be sure to do that. And thank-you for the link. I'll look at it when I get home.
     

Share This Page