new imac transfer data

Discussion in 'iMac' started by skcrane, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. skcrane macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    dayton, oh
    #1
    Is it better to migrate data from time capsule back up or directly from the old computer via migration assistant or does it matter
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    hmm it doesnt really matter, but migration assistant would likely do a "better job" as it is driver aware etc.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    It doesn't matter if they both hold the same data. Just make sure you are using WIRED connection because wireless is sooo sloooow
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    they would be handled slightly different. TM will just dump everything back on there, migration would look at the computers hardware and optimise for it - somehow ;)
     
  5. fteter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #5
    Ummm...my recent experience with Migration Assistant was not a good one. Once the connection finally was made, it left me with a few issues to fix. I'd be a little wary.
     
  6. blinkin182 macrumors regular

    blinkin182

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    I used Migration Assistant to migrate all my files from my 20" iMac C2D to my new refurb 27" iMac i7 and it went very smoothly, although it took all night (I have a lot of files... almost 300 GB worth). However, I got up this morning and everything seemed to be working fine (iTunes library, iPhoto library, extension, mail settings etc.). I need to test more tonight but was really pleased how easy it was to transfer it all.

    Migration assistant only found one incompatible software.

    However, only thing I still need to do is transfer my Windows partition (which I rarely use, and only for gaming). Anyone know how to do that? I suppose I need to reinstall Windows XP for new computer, but how do I save all of my files (game saves & other files)? I'm completely lost on Windows :confused:

    I also don't know how to get Windows to accept that I'm installing it on a new computer... with all the DRM **** they have, it usually is a headache for me. Any ideas?

    P.S. Sorry for long post :p
     

Share This Page